Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 09:31 AM   #31
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Share |
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Screwing them to the metal can makes a good connection but I also run a ground wire the same as the size that I feed the panel with between the two.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:47 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Oops, meant to say neutral bars.
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:58 AM   #33
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAngles View Post
I meant in the main breaker. I don't have to connect the ground lead in my 6-3 romex to the left neutral/ground bar and connect the neutral to the the right neutral/ground bar in the main breaker do I? I should just be able to connect both wires to the same bar right?

As far as the sub panel goes, I picked up a "ground bar" today that will snap into the left side of the panel. It has screws that can go all the way through it into the frame of the panel to ground it if I want, but I figured I'd just leave it snapped into the plastic not touching any metal and use it as the neutral bar, and use the existing bar as a ground bar if it needs to be screwed into the frame.
Your panel is intended to be a split neutral design. It was never intended by the manufacturer to have a ground bar snapped into the insulated back. The ground bar you purchased should match the part# on the panel specifications label and is mounted into the predrilled holes either on the left side or right side of the panel or you can mount two ground bars and install/snap the neutral bar kit in the insulated stand off of the panel. It will come with a neutral tie bar or strap that will join the two neutral bars and you will simply not use the green screw as the main bonding jumper. The ground bars if you use two of them are bonded by the mounting screws and the panel metal .. nothing else is required. The manufacturer intended for the panel to be set up like this if you chose the split neutral design. My drawing has a main breaker in the panel but I think you can still see the idea. The notation on the bottom right simply means that the panel drawing shows a panel that is not a "main panel" or service equipment panel and therefore will not have the main bonding jumper (green screw in your case) installed. Also this is a very good read for the DIY homeowner ....


http://advanceelectricaltraining.com...ad_centers.pdf
......


Last edited by Stubbie; 12-31-2012 at 11:20 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:16 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Ahh, ok that makes sense. I had looked for a part number but didn't find one anywhere.
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:18 AM   #35
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAngles View Post
Ahh, ok that makes sense. I had looked for a part number but didn't find one anywhere.
Who is the maker of your panel ?
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:24 AM   #36
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


You really don't need to go to all the trouble of installing the neutral tie strap and extra neutral bar for what your doing. Just terminate your neutrals to the existing neutral bar and add a ground bar. I will agree for cosmetics the split neutral is more friendly for wire management but it is not necessary.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:37 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


It's a Seimens, here's the product page at Menards. I agree that it's not necessary, and I only have six circuits planned at the moment, so I'll probably just put them all in on the right side for now anyway. I was confused about the left side snap in section, it makes a lot more sense to put the ground bar on the frame.
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:28 PM   #38
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAngles View Post
It's a Seimens, here's the product page at Menards. I agree that it's not necessary, and I only have six circuits planned at the moment, so I'll probably just put them all in on the right side for now anyway. I was confused about the left side snap in section, it makes a lot more sense to put the ground bar on the frame.

I thought that it was a Siemens but it is necessary to be sure ...

I'll add a drawing just so you can get a visual of the final installation.
Attached Thumbnails
Type of wire to run to sub panel-subpanel-stubbie.jpg  
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
MrAngles (12-31-2012)
Old 12-31-2012, 12:37 PM   #39
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Why don't you post some pictures when your done and we can check it for code compliance and safety. The members on this forum are from all areas of skill, some of us are electricians and some are very skilled DIY. We won't beat up on you .. our interest is to make sure you get your sub-panel installation code compliant.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:01 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


I appreciate it, that makes it completely clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stubie View Post
Why don't you post some pictures when your done and we can check it for code compliance and safety. The members on this forum are from all areas of skill, some of us are electricians and some are very skilled DIY. We won't beat up on you .. our interest is to make sure you get your sub-panel installation code compliant.
That would be great, I'll probably get it wired up tonight.
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:00 AM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Ok here it is wired up.

Main panel:


Sub Panel:
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:34 AM   #42
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Looks good to me from what I see in the picture.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:03 AM   #43
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


That is fine .. be sure that all your cables are fastened above the sub panel within 12" after leaving the enclosure. You should have at least 1/4" of the outer sheathing of your cables past the cable clamps inside the panel. Don't go more than an inch or it looks ugly ... I'd take a little of the bend out of the 12 awg cable by moving the fastener up to around the 12 inch mark if possible..
If you want you can use the large lug on the ground bar for the termination of your feeder equipment ground assuming it is rated for a 10 awg wire. Those lugs usually have a range of wire sizes that can be terminated ... for example 14 awg to 2 awg.

Other than that you did fine. Your nm-b cables should be fastened every 4 feet or so when possible and within 12 inches of your boxes. If you run down the side of framing lumber or thru bored holes keep the cable back 1 1/4" from the face of the framing member to avoid a nail penetrating the cable. If you can't do that then purchase some nailing plates to install over the area where a nail might get driven into the cable... this will prevent that from happening.

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-01-2013 at 10:50 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:15 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Thanks for a ll the help guys, I really appreciate it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stubie View Post
I'd take a little of the bend out of the 12 awg cable by moving the fastener up to around the 12 inch mark if possible.
Why is this, I figured getting the cable flat against the OSB would be best, but are the 90 deg bends bad?
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:23 PM   #45
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 683
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Unnecessary tight bends are bad for the insulation, provides a potential failure point.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
jbfan (01-01-2013), rrolleston (01-01-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 08:36 AM
What type of wire is this? hotot Electrical 5 09-22-2012 05:03 PM
sub panel wire type reengineered Electrical 10 02-17-2012 07:45 PM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions Al the Diy guy Electrical 23 02-03-2008 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.