Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2012, 07:49 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,682
Share |
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Remove the green screw.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 07:56 PM   #17
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Remove the green screw.
Say What?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 08:12 PM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,682
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Say What?
Ok, do it your way then.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 10:58 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


I appreciate all the replies. It's late here so maybe I'm not thinking correctly, but don't ground and neutral wires go to the same bar anyway? What are the separate bars for?
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 11:01 PM   #20
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 145
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAngles View Post
I appreciate all the replies. It's late here so maybe I'm not thinking correctly, but don't ground and neutral wires go to the same bar anyway? What are the separate bars for?
They do in the main panel, but not the sub. By connecting the ground/neutral in a sub you will allow current to flow on the grounding conductor.
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:58 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by diystephen

They do in the main panel, but not the sub. By connecting the ground/neutral in a sub you will allow current to flow on the grounding conductor.
Aha. Do I need to keep all the arc-fault breakers on the side of the box with the neutral bar, or can I run the neutral wires from the breakers around from the other side? Seems like the wiring in the box will be pretty messy.
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:14 PM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


If you get a bar that will snap into the other side you can use that one as your neutral and the existing one your ground screw in the green screw to make the ground bonded to the metal of the panel.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:25 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAngles View Post
Aha. Do I need to keep all the arc-fault breakers on the side of the box with the neutral bar, or can I run the neutral wires from the breakers around from the other side? Seems like the wiring in the box will be pretty messy.
You could get it so you have two neutral and ground bars. Have the neutral bars snapped into the plastic interior and two ground bars attached to the panel back. That way you don't have to bring your grounds and neutrals all the way around to the other side.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:48 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston
If you get a bar that will snap into the other side you can use that one as your neutral and the existing one your ground screw in the green screw to make the ground bonded to the metal of the panel.
Ok so the ground wire DOES have to be connected to the box with the green screw?
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:59 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Oh also before I hook everything up I should verify does it matter which of the positive lugs I hook the hot leads to (I don't have to match the left pole on the sub panel to the left pole on the main panel do I?)? Likewise, do I connect the neutral and ground leads right next to each other on the same ground bar in the main breaker?
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 06:02 PM   #26
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Don't matter what hot lead you connect to what. If you use that bar as a ground bar you have to get a neutral bar that snaps into the other side.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 06:34 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Don't matter what hot lead you connect to what. If you use that bar as a ground bar you have to get a neutral bar that snaps into the other side.
I meant in the main breaker. I don't have to connect the ground lead in my 6-3 romex to the left neutral/ground bar and connect the neutral to the the right neutral/ground bar in the main breaker do I? I should just be able to connect both wires to the same bar right?

As far as the sub panel goes, I picked up a "ground bar" today that will snap into the left side of the panel. It has screws that can go all the way through it into the frame of the panel to ground it if I want, but I figured I'd just leave it snapped into the plastic not touching any metal and use it as the neutral bar, and use the existing bar as a ground bar if it needs to be screwed into the frame.
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:07 PM   #28
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAngles View Post
I meant in the main breaker. I don't have to connect the ground lead in my 6-3 romex to the left neutral/ground bar and connect the neutral to the the right neutral/ground bar in the main breaker do I? I should just be able to connect both wires to the same bar right?

As far as the sub panel goes, I picked up a "ground bar" today that will snap into the left side of the panel. It has screws that can go all the way through it into the frame of the panel to ground it if I want, but I figured I'd just leave it snapped into the plastic not touching any metal and use it as the neutral bar, and use the existing bar as a ground bar if it needs to be screwed into the frame.
The grounded conductor(white wire) and the grounding conductor(bare copper) of the sub panel feeder cable are connected to the same bar in the main panel.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:57 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric
The grounded conductor(white wire) and the grounding conductor(bare copper) of the sub panel feeder cable are connected to the same bar in the main panel.
That's what I thought, thank you.
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:46 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
You could get it so you have two neutral and ground bars. Have the neutral bars snapped into the plastic interior and two ground bars attached to the panel back. That way you don't have to bring your grounds and neutrals all the way around to the other side.
So if I were to do this, what do I use to connect the two ground bars together?

MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MrAngles For This Useful Post:
langless28 (05-15-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 08:36 AM
What type of wire is this? hotot Electrical 5 09-22-2012 05:03 PM
sub panel wire type reengineered Electrical 10 02-17-2012 07:45 PM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions Al the Diy guy Electrical 23 02-03-2008 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.