Type Of Wire To Run To Sub Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 10:22 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


I'm finishing my basement, and decided to add a subpanel for power down there. I'd like to use a 50 or 60 amp breaker in the main panel, but I'm not clear on what wire to use to run to the subpanel. I can't seem to find any romex in 6 gauge or bigger at the big big stores, but I did find this online: http://www.wesbellwireandcable.com/R...mexnmb6-2.html Should I be using romex, or should I be using individual wires in a conduit? Will I need higher than 6 gauge to support 60 amps?

Advertisement

MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:36 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


The wire in the link can be purchased from a local electrical supply house. But, you need 6/3 NM. Not 6/2 NM. You must run four wires to the sub. H-H-N-G.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
The wire in the link can be purchased from a local electrical supply house. But, you need 6/3 NM. Not 6/2 NM. You must run four wires to the sub. H-H-N-G.
Thank you, what's the additional wire for?
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:56 PM   #4
kbc
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


the additional wire is for the ground, in a main panel nuetrals and grounds can be together but in a sub panel they hav to be isolated
kbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Isn't 6/2 three wires, hot, neutral and ground? 6/3 is four leads, right?
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Correct... 6/3 with ground contains two hots, a neutral, and a ground. One hot would be connected to each pole of your 2-pole feeder breaker in the main panel to run 240V and then connect to the buses in your subpanel (lugs or breaker).
BrandonD is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BrandonD For This Useful Post:
MrAngles (10-11-2012)
Old 10-11-2012, 07:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Gotcha, cool, thank you.
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 08:02 PM   #8
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAngles
Isn't 6/2 three wires, hot, neutral and ground? 6/3 is four leads, right?
Generally speaking the first # in wire description refers to the gauge (thickness) of the wire.
The second # refers to the amount of wires within the sheathing. The ground is almost never referenced in that # but is almost always there.
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 08:06 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Generally speaking the first # in wire description refers to the gauge (thickness) of the wire.
The second # refers to the amount of wires within the sheathing. The ground is almost never referenced in that # but is almost always there.
You are correct on the gauge, but the second number refers to then number of insulated conductors.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 08:20 PM   #10
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz

You are correct on the gauge, but the second number refers to then number of insulated conductors.
Tomato, tomAto.
Terminology.
No?
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 07:22 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Okay I have my 50A breaker, my sub panel and my 6-3 NM wire, with three 6-gauge conductors and a ground.

My sub panel has three lugs, two for hot and one for negative? Where do I hook up the ground? Do I just screw it in anywhere on the negative bar? Also since this is just going from the attached garage to the basement (it doesn't go outside anywhere), do I take the green screw out?

(sorry for the poor picture)

Last edited by MrAngles; 12-29-2012 at 07:39 PM. Reason: Added picture
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 07:46 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


You will have to add a ground bar.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 07:47 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Tomato, tomAto.
Terminology.
No?
Yes it is.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 08:39 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston
You will have to add a ground bar.
Ok I see where the ground bar will pop in on the left side. Do I need to actually ground it to something in the basement, or is it just a spot for the ground wires to all connect to the 6-3 supply wire's ground?

And how about that green screw?
MrAngles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 08:49 PM   #15
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,975
Rewards Points: 2,206
Default

Type of wire to run to sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAngles View Post
Ok I see where the ground bar will pop in on the left side. Do I need to actually ground it to something in the basement, or is it just a spot for the ground wires to all connect to the 6-3 supply wire's ground?

And how about that green screw?
Remove the green screw.

Advertisement

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 09:36 AM
What type of wire is this? hotot Electrical 5 09-22-2012 06:03 PM
sub panel wire type reengineered Electrical 10 02-17-2012 08:45 PM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions Al the Diy guy Electrical 23 02-03-2008 03:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts