Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2009, 05:59 PM   #1
SNC
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


What is better ? Solid or stranded ? this is 12 ga. in PVC thru the drive way and eventually under the back yard to a shed.

SNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 06:04 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,795
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


Flip a coin!


Stranded is easier to pull, solid is easier to form. IMHO

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 06:44 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


I agree. Solid is slightly less money though. It's also easier to skin up when pushing it into a box.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 07:31 PM   #4
SNC
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


I guess they are equal in capacity.
SNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 08:40 PM   #5
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 0
Post

Type of wire in coduit.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wire Go down to Solid versus stranded
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 11:08 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


Stranded for sure. Not even sure why they make solid THHN.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 11:27 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


I've always thought that stranded was better on pulls
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 12:21 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


Solid is easier to push through conduit where as stranded almost always has to be pulled through conduit.

Personally I like stranded when I am connecting to it with wire nuts or directly to outlets that have the pressure plates. Solid is better when connecting directly to a screw only outlet (ie no pressure plates). Obviously its not hard to splice in a piece of solid wire to the stranded wire to connect to an outlet or device where you only have the screw.

Also, it sounds like this is outside so the wire must be wet rated "THWN"
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 08:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


Quote:
Stranded for sure. Not even sure why they make solid THHN.
Terminations in standard devices is one reason.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 10:03 PM   #10
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


Quote:
Stranded for sure. Not even sure why they make solid THHN.
I hear you. I prefer stranded for every application I can think of. Still, solid is required for Fire Alarm circuits (at least here in Chicago)
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 12:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Solid is easier to push through conduit where as stranded almost always has to be pulled through conduit.
Sorry, but I must disagree with your statement. Solid is MUCH harder to push than stranded unless you have no bends.

220/221
If you have used mostly stranded THHN in your career, like I have, attaching to devices is easy, if you know how. I agree about the loop being easier. I keep some solid around for the pig tails. But it is not needed.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 06:09 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Type of wire in coduit.


Quote:
Sorry, but I must disagree with your statement. Solid is MUCH harder to push than stranded unless you have no bends.
Waht??

Pushing stranded is like pushing rope. 3 solid 12's will push easily thru 20' of 1/2" EMT and a couple 90's. Stranded, not so much.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
Replacement Light Fixture - Speed Wire Clip? nick4597 Electrical 4 01-03-2009 12:49 PM
What type of wire to connect motion sensor to light? beezlebub03 Electrical 1 05-31-2008 01:16 PM
Help 220v 4 wire to 3 wire fhome45 Electrical 2 04-22-2008 05:46 AM
damaged wire sheathing rodeo Electrical 11 12-28-2007 09:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.