Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2010, 09:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Type nc single pole breakers to type na single pole


Can I remove one sinlge pole type NA 15 amp breaker and replace it with two NC single pole 15 amp breakers in my old Federal Pacific box?

Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 10:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Default

Type nc single pole breakers to type na single pole


If the panel box allows it. It will tell you on the cover.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 11:04 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Type nc single pole breakers to type na single pole


According to the panel I can, but looking at the bus bar once the type na breaker is removed, Im not sure that the top Nc breaker will contact correctly.
Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 03:30 PM   #4
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Type nc single pole breakers to type na single pole


The problem here is you have an FPE box. They are inherently dangerous and its more than likely old and worn out. You will probably have issues with it arcing due to poor contact. Keep in mind, most FPE breakers you find are not OEM replacements OR they are refurbed/used.

Do it at your own risk (which is relatively high)
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 05:29 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,528
Default

Type nc single pole breakers to type na single pole


Quote:
Originally Posted by LyonsElecSupply View Post
The problem here is you have an FPE box. They are inherently dangerous and its more than likely old and worn out. You will probably have issues with it arcing due to poor contact. Keep in mind, most FPE breakers you find are not OEM replacements OR they are refurbed/used.

Do it at your own risk (which is relatively high)

Unless the OP is in Canada. We still sell and install new FPE panels.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 09:44 PM   #6
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Type nc single pole breakers to type na single pole


I dont know about that man. Were talking about the FPE from the 50's right? Last I knew they have been out of business for the last decade or more. I dont know what new panels you are installing........

Were talking about the Panels of Death right?

Im in the US and we DO NOT sell any "NEW" OEM FPE equipment.


FPE breakers are made by american circuit breaker and are replacements, not OEM. I also dont think they are UL Listed.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 10:32 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,528
Default

Type nc single pole breakers to type na single pole


They are actually called federal pioneer now. Made by Schneider Electric

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 12-02-2010 at 10:34 PM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 10:33 PM   #8
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Type nc single pole breakers to type na single pole


Ya I think they are completely different systems. Hes talking about the Old FPE NA and NC breakers.

EDIT, they are the same thing, but just newer (im guessing imcompatable).

But yes, we dont use them in the US anymore to my best knowledge. They are death panels.


Last edited by LyonsElecSupply; 12-02-2010 at 10:35 PM.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole vs. Double Pole Thermostat dforeid Electrical 14 08-26-2012 08:12 AM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 12:39 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 10:10 AM
Convert single pole switch to a 3 way! Wildie Electrical 19 05-13-2010 10:20 AM
Understanding Circuit Pannel and Single Pole vs. Double Pole circuit brakers grisha_1 Electrical 4 01-31-2009 07:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.