Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-30-2006, 04:40 PM   #1
Power Gen/RS Engineer

Rewards Points: 500

Type DZYR/Electrical vs. type QNMJ/Plumbing PVC Pipe

I have been working in electrical construction and design for the past 13 years and have had many occasions to witness the installation of underground PVC pipe, for both concrete encased and direct burial applications. Typically, grey PVC pipe, type “DZYR,” is used for electrical applications whereas white or type “QNMJ” is used for plumbing. Further, type “DZYR,” is manufactured according to UL651 whereas that used for plumbing applications follows ASTM standards.

I had a conversation the other day with a local electrical inspector/AHJ regarding the feasibility of using “plumbing” PVC in lieu of “electrical” PVC piping for a run between my house and detached garage (I had a bunch of extra sticks laying around and considering that it would be carrying some power limited signal/control wiring for alarm, telephone and intercom, I didn’t really think that it was a big deal). He wigged and basically threatened to cut off my legs if I did. Once he calmed down, I asked him what specific characteristics of the “QNMJ” pipe made it unsuitable for use as an electrical conduit and he admitted that he didn’t know (other than “It ain’t grey.”).

I would like to study the appropriate ASTM and UL specifications to understand what makes these two products different but they are not published on line and are very expensive to purchase. I would guess that the plumbing variety would need to withstand higher pressures/temperatures when compared to the electrical type but again, this is only a hunch.

If anyone has any thoughts, please share! And thanx!

BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 07:49 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 75