Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2013, 01:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

two wire to three wire connection


got two wires and ground (black, white and ground)coming from box with power. They connected in the kitchen ceiling light, but also connected to three wires and ground (red, blalck, white and ground) that went into the wall for the dinning area. In remodeling I took them all apart replaced the cloth wire with romex, but now the dinning area does not light. Doug

Irideher9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 1,508
Default

two wire to three wire connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by Irideher9 View Post
got two wires and ground (black, white and ground)coming from box with power. They connected in the kitchen ceiling light, but also connected to three wires and ground (red, blalck, white and ground) that went into the wall for the dinning area. In remodeling I took them all apart replaced the cloth wire with romex, but now the dinning area does not light. Doug

Did you reconnect the same way they were??

Canarywood1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:30 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

two wire to three wire connection


I would try black to black. Red to light black. White to white and light white.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 11:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,246
Default

two wire to three wire connection


http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...electedIndex=1
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 09:18 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

two wire to three wire connection


Nice drawing but not what he described.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electical wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell vision pro, fan always on? and True Steam problem c5sb HVAC 6 06-19-2012 09:08 PM
wiring a whirlpool cooktop davidtyson Electrical 8 06-17-2012 01:58 AM
How to rewire outlet controlled by light switch? BuckyGunts Electrical 30 04-20-2012 02:18 PM
How increase the length of wire to line connection wdrrob Electrical 9 08-02-2011 04:30 PM
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 10:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.