Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 06:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove


I have a pellet stove that has a blower and a manual thermostat with two wires on 24v. When I set the thermostat to hotter than room tempeture the blower turns on. My question is, I purchased a digital thermostat to upgrade the old one, the new one is a Honeywell RTH221b , but the new thermostat has cool and hot temperature. I'm planning on connecting the hot 24v. wire from the pellet stove to the R letter in the termostat and the return RH letter to the 24v. blower motor. Will this turn my blower on when I set the heat?. And do I need a jumper to give power to the thermostat? and if I do, what letter to what letter do I need the jumper from and to? Thak you for all your help!
Thanks a million
PS. If you read this questuion under Thermostat Wireing on other post is becuase I did not know I have to create my own post. thanks.


Last edited by jrodtaclet; 09-15-2009 at 05:42 PM.
jrodtaclet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 06:48 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove


Can you post the model of your t-stat. R & RH are pretty much the same thing so, no, you wouldn't hook it up like that.

Digital t-stats are set up for several heating systems so, it'll need to be set-up with something close to yours.

Does it have a "C" terminal? Depending on the heating selected, it should hook to W or W1. Since you have heat only, it could also just hook to the fan relay terminal (G)

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 06:51 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove


I will post some pictures tonight when I get home. Thanks
jrodtaclet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 07:21 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove


On second thought, I assumed you had a like a HVAC thermostat. I guess with a stove you would have one with a probe. So my info was based on a t-stat you would use for an HVAC system which is most likely a little different than what you have.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 05:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove


I'll try to hook it up this weekend unless I don't have the right T-stat and have to go buy a different one.

Last edited by jrodtaclet; 09-15-2009 at 05:44 PM.
jrodtaclet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire stove connection bgoldie Electrical 13 03-01-2011 12:29 PM
8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed dj petey Electrical 5 01-19-2008 09:11 AM
3 wire connection for new kitchen stove rjniles Electrical 4 09-13-2007 12:59 AM
Tie-in of a Coleman electric furnace nilo HVAC 9 01-03-2007 03:45 PM
8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed dj petey HVAC 5 04-15-2006 12:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.