Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2010, 12:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 119
Share |
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Does anyone want to take a moment to explain to me how I can wire two switch to two different lights. I have power coming into the switch box and a 14/2 to each light. I want to put two individual switches in a double gang box to control each light. Any help would be awesome!
bfan781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:13 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Connect all 3 whites together.

Connect 1 black from each 14/2 (the ones going to the lights) to each switch, it doesn't matter which screw.

You should now have the incoming black remaining. Cut 2 short (8 inches or so) lengths of black wire, put those two into a wirenut with your incoming black. Connect the other ends of the short wires to the other screws on your two switches.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:14 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Quote:
Originally Posted by bfan781 View Post
Does anyone want to take a moment to explain to me how I can wire two switch to two different lights. I have power coming into the switch box and a 14/2 to each light. I want to put two individual switches in a double gang box to control each light. Any help would be awesome!
on the incomming power make two pigtails(two 6" pieces of wire) and marrette them with the feed. Take one pigtail to one switch and the other pigtail to the other switch. Tie the black from the one light to the unused screw on one switch and the black from the other light to the unused screw on the other switch. Join all your neutrals together(marrette) and install switches with screws to the right.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Or if a drawing will help
Attached Thumbnails
two switches, two lights, one box-bfan.jpg  
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 119
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Perfect. Thanks for your time. A diagram is worth a thousand words sometimes!!!
bfan781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work DWooderson Electrical 3 02-02-2010 12:06 PM
move 2 switches new location, replace with 2 for new lights qchawkfan Electrical 3 01-24-2010 11:15 AM
2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1 bldaz Electrical 9 12-24-2009 06:42 PM
Multiple lights and switches on one circuit Straightgrain Electrical 5 03-31-2009 07:34 AM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 03:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.