Two Switches, Two Lights, One Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2010, 12:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 91
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Does anyone want to take a moment to explain to me how I can wire two switch to two different lights. I have power coming into the switch box and a 14/2 to each light. I want to put two individual switches in a double gang box to control each light. Any help would be awesome!

Advertisement

bfan781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:13 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,260
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Connect all 3 whites together.

Connect 1 black from each 14/2 (the ones going to the lights) to each switch, it doesn't matter which screw.

You should now have the incoming black remaining. Cut 2 short (8 inches or so) lengths of black wire, put those two into a wirenut with your incoming black. Connect the other ends of the short wires to the other screws on your two switches.

Advertisement

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 12:14 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Quote:
Originally Posted by bfan781 View Post
Does anyone want to take a moment to explain to me how I can wire two switch to two different lights. I have power coming into the switch box and a 14/2 to each light. I want to put two individual switches in a double gang box to control each light. Any help would be awesome!
on the incomming power make two pigtails(two 6" pieces of wire) and marrette them with the feed. Take one pigtail to one switch and the other pigtail to the other switch. Tie the black from the one light to the unused screw on one switch and the black from the other light to the unused screw on the other switch. Join all your neutrals together(marrette) and install switches with screws to the right.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Or if a drawing will help
Attached Thumbnails
two switches, two lights, one box-bfan.jpg  
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 91
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Perfect. Thanks for your time. A diagram is worth a thousand words sometimes!!!
bfan781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 07:19 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


What happens with the ground wires?
Wjosephsimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 07:29 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


I got how to wire the white and black wires but what I am confused on is the ground wires. Do I need to wire nut the 3 bare ground wires together with 2 short wires to ground to both switches?
Wjosephsimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 07:36 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,260
Rewards Points: 2,916
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wjosephsimpson View Post
I got how to wire the white and black wires but what I am confused on is the ground wires. Do I need to wire nut the 3 bare ground wires together with 2 short wires to ground to both switches?
Yes..
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Wjosephsimpson (04-12-2015)
Old 04-12-2015, 09:04 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 356
Rewards Points: 716
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Get yourself a dual pole light switch. It will look like this



Other than that, the other members described it correctly. Wire the 3 whites together. Wire the black POWER wire with 2 pigtails sticking out. Connect 1 to each switch, connect the black wire to the light to the other side. Wire the 3 grounds together, you dont need a wirenut, simply wire all 3 together about 4-6" down & clip 2 off so 1 is sticking out, connect your ground to the ground screw.
Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 09:19 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,826
Rewards Points: 3,810
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


Many find the duplex switch to be backward to flip the toggles sideways instead of up and down.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 12:26 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 356
Rewards Points: 716
Default

two switches, two lights, one box


My bad anyways jim. I misread the OP original post. I thought he was attempting to put 2 switches in a single gang box not a double & that was what he was having an issue with. Apologies on that.

Advertisement

Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work DWooderson Electrical 3 02-02-2010 12:06 PM
move 2 switches new location, replace with 2 for new lights qchawkfan Electrical 3 01-24-2010 11:15 AM
2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1 bldaz Electrical 9 12-24-2009 06:42 PM
Multiple lights and switches on one circuit Straightgrain Electrical 5 03-31-2009 07:34 AM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 03:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts