Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2010, 11:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Two Switches, One Timer


I have light switches inside my house (2) that control 2 sets of front porch lights. Both switches are 2 way single pole. Two black wires, one ground for each. I've figured out how they will attach to the timer, but it leaves one question. One black on each switch combines with the other then combines with the same wire on the timer. Since there is now a ground on each switch, which attaches to each switch (plastic box), can I attach both grounds to the screw on the timer or do I just attach the two grounds to each other and cap with a wire connector?

casualfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Two Switches, One Timer


I have not had good luck trying to combine grounds by the use of a switch grounding screw. I also suspect this to be a code violation. I prefer criming all ground wires together with those copper bands, or use wire nuts.

Based on your question, however, it sounds as if you don't have a copper ground from your supply. Is this true? Grounding devices to each other but to nothing else would not serve much purpose. Make sure all your switches and timers are grounded to the copper in your supply wire (assuming you have one).

oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 07:46 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,712
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

Two Switches, One Timer


All the grounds need to be connected. You can use wire nuts to make the connection. Two wires under one ground screw is not compliant.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about wiring and voltage with switches and lights rswurth Electrical 17 06-20-2010 11:12 PM
Mechanical timer wiring? Duane 70 Electrical 5 06-16-2010 08:57 PM
Question about switches on a 20 amp circuit Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 10:09 AM
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.