Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2010, 03:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Two switches between power and lights


Anything in code (NEC 2008) that says I can't have two switches between power and the lights? As in both switches must be "on" before the lights come on?

What I want to do is have a room with multiple light sources (overhead, recessed, wall sconches, etc). I want one bank of switches to determine which lights are "active", but actually power them from a 4-way switch setup.

The idea is sort of like a 3-way dimmer switch, where you have a sliding switch to "set" your desired light level, and a three way switch to turn the lights on and off from multiple locations. But in my case, you "set" the desired light level with a bank of switches that controls each light source. Then the 4-way switch turns the selected set of lights on/off.

HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 03:33 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Two switches between power and lights


Kinda out of the ordinary, but not a code issue that I am aware of.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Two switches between power and lights


Well, I'm sort of an "out of the ordinary" kind of guy.

Actully, a part of what lead to this solution was not being sure how much light this new playroom/den is going to need. With everything moving to CFLs, I don't want to install dimmers. So I decided to convert the ceiling lights to logical "three-way" lights. Basically, I'm going to install ceiling lights fixtures that contain two bulbs. I'm going to install one 40 watt and one 60 watt bulb in each fixture. I'll run 14/3 to the fixtures, and power the 40 watts from the black and the 60 watt from the red. The primary 4-way switches will power the switch bank. The switch bank will independantly power the black and red of the 14/3. That way, without any special hardward, I'll be able to have lights in the ceiling powered on at 40, 60, or 100 watts (or what ever pair combination I want to put in the light fixtures).

I could extend the logic to make 7 way lights by using light fixtures with three bulbs. I could fill each light fixture with a 25, 40, and 60 watt bulbs. That way, I could have 25, 40, 60, 65, 85, 100, or 125 watts of light. But the additional wire and multiple combinations on the switches makes that idea a bit over-kill.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:10 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Two switches between power and lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by HooKooDooKu View Post
Well, I'm sort of an "out of the ordinary" kind of guy.

I kinda figured that about you!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,964
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Two switches between power and lights


No problem having a master switch or even a master 3 way setup feeding a bank of ordinary dimmers and/or ordinary switches.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
move 2 switches new location, replace with 2 for new lights qchawkfan Electrical 3 01-24-2010 11:15 AM
2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1 bldaz Electrical 9 12-24-2009 06:42 PM
2 switches, 2 lights, one 14/3? sstrick500 Electrical 2 06-22-2009 07:01 AM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 08:35 PM
need power for 120v to 12v undercabinet lights robin hood Electrical 2 02-26-2008 03:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.