Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2011, 08:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

Two sub panels off of main panel OK?


Is it acceptable to have 2 sub panels off of your main panel? I currently have a 100 amp service. Off of the main, I have a 50 amp sub panel for the garage. This filled up the main panel. What I want to do is have a dedicated line for a 110 air conditioner. If I put another sub panel in, I could free up the main. Is this legal and acceptable?

I know the best thing to do is install a 200 amp main, but at this point, I am out of money.

Thanks for your help. (again)

brjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 08:13 AM   #2
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Default

Two sub panels off of main panel OK?


You can have 2 subs of main panel providing that total computed load does not exceed the main breaker size.

NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 09:31 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,733
Default

Two sub panels off of main panel OK?


Yes, done all the way. If I was to redo my house, I would have a sub for lighting, a sub for receptacles, and the main with the breakers for larger appliances & the subs.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:33 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Two sub panels off of main panel OK?


Thanks for the information, it helps.
brjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 01:33 PM   #5
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Two sub panels off of main panel OK?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Yes, done all the way. If I was to redo my house, I would have a sub for lighting, a sub for receptacles, and the main with the breakers for larger appliances & the subs.
Thats a little over the top
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maxed out main panel and sub panel - additional 240v needed netcustoms Electrical 4 03-12-2011 11:40 AM
main to sub panel conduit/wire run daddyrabbit Electrical 7 02-12-2010 07:12 PM
Sub Panel install eagertolearn Electrical 17 01-23-2010 05:39 PM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 09:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.