Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2011, 03:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Two sets of 3 way switches on one circuit.


Hello,

My name is Aron and I am in the process of finishing my basement. I am currently working on the electrical and I have a question regarding the wiring configuration for wiring two sets of three way switches.

Here is the scenario. I am running 12ga wire throughout to 20A circuits. The living room is approximately 17ft wide by 28ft long and the wife bless her soul, has her heart set on 15 can lights.

So I was thinking a three way switch to work them all. One on each end of the room. I could do that, I have a wiring book and am fairly confident. The wrench in my plan is she wants three rows of the lights to work with one set of switches and the remaining two to work with the other. My first thought was to run the configuration I am comfortable with to two different circuits, but I believe this will be wasteful and Arc fault breakers for future bedrooms are going to eat up my available space.

So…

Can someone help me with how I would make mama happy and only use up one circuit. I have plenty of 12-3 and 12-2 wire.

Thanks in advance.

Aron063 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 04:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Two sets of 3 way switches on one circuit.


1 Power 12/2 to first set of switches. 2 12/3 cables to other set of switches. 1 12/2 to each set of lights.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 06:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Two sets of 3 way switches on one circuit.


think you have that backwards. Power is coming through the switch and then into 9 lights. I assume the next three lights are on the next switch. With this setup, you have to turn on the 9 lights just to turn on the 3 lights. Correct?
14-2 will do just fine, you only need a few inches of wire to make the necessary pigtails in the J-box.

Electricians Melbourne CBD
Camdeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:24 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

Two sets of 3 way switches on one circuit.


It is as simple as creating two switch setups and using the same power source. There is no need use two circuits for these lights. If you can wire up one all the light then simply wire up six of them with that setup and then copy it for the other three. Use the same p ower source for both of them by pigtailing two black wires to the incoming power for connection the the two switches.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing old switches RyanS2000 Electrical 4 09-11-2011 03:21 PM
Replacing a circuit breaker tertius Electrical 9 09-24-2009 08:17 PM
Open circuit has power, close the circuit no power??? BeginnerHomeDIY Electrical 7 07-08-2009 02:40 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM
15A switches on a 20A circuit Unregistered Electrical 1 03-07-2004 03:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.