Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 11:03 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

two outlets with switch at end - troubleshoot help


Hello all,

I recently had two outlets installed on a new breaker, working fine. i have a smarthome remote control switch keypad which, needing a power feed, was connected to the end of the line. now the outlets don't work, but the switch does. it's on a 15A breaker. Any ideas? HELP!

jitani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,694
Default

two outlets with switch at end - troubleshoot help


How did you wire it?

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:45 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,386
Default

two outlets with switch at end - troubleshoot help


You wired it wrong. Since I can't see what you did through the internet, if you tell us how you wired it maybe we can then tell you where you went wrong.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:38 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

two outlets with switch at end - troubleshoot help


The neutral wire out of the outlet was connected into a cluster, so the neutral wire from the switch was clumped into that, and the power line from the terminal outlet was fed out from the back of the outlet and connected to the switch. can you tell me how it is supposed to be wired if this is wrong? because BOTH outlets on the circuit now do not work, not just the last one.

Last edited by jitani; 12-03-2012 at 03:38 PM. Reason: grammar
jitani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:39 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,386
Default

two outlets with switch at end - troubleshoot help


What is the switch going to control. As it is it sounds like you connected the switch as a direct short on the circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, outlet, switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Wiring a bedroom with a switch and outlets clarkjoh Electrical 1 06-06-2012 10:53 AM
switch controls one set of outlets as well as another single outlet metaphys Electrical 14 04-04-2012 11:56 AM
Please help me troubleshoot my 3 way switch campbesh General DIY Discussions 3 02-19-2010 02:17 PM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-08-2008 11:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.