Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2007, 12:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to jjohnson
Share |
Default

Two motion sensors on one circuit?


Greetings all, what a great forum, I just discovered it.

I have a walkway row of three outdoor post-mounted lamps on one circuit. Each takes a single bulb of max 100 watts. It was recently installed by a contractor with a simple day/night sensor so that all lamps go on at dusk and off at dawn.

Here's my question: I'd like to avoid having the lamps on all night - it makes the walkway look a little too inviting at 3am. Can I install a motion sensor at each end of the row of lamps, so that whether a person is coming or going, either of the sensors can turn on the lamps for 5 minutes or so?

Thanks much for any thoughts or advice on this,

JJ

jjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 05:23 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Two motion sensors on one circuit?


It would be a really cool set up to have the two motion sensors. In order to get them to control all three lights, you will need a bit of relay logic to isolate the load side wires of the different sensors.

Unless someone knows of a brand that does not have this problem, my experience is that the motion floods do not like being backfeed.

And easier solution might be to look into X-10 compatable controls. You would need the two motion transmitters, and a reciever at each light. With an extra push button transmitter at the house you could have an override switch handy. With a couple more components you could get very fancy.

jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 07:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Two motion sensors on one circuit?


I believe that they have post mount sensor lights. Install the motion sensor lights on each post and allow the post (light) to be activated as needed indepently.
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 04:06 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to jjohnson
Default

Two motion sensors on one circuit?


thanks jwhite and redline. The x10 idea sounds very interesting. If its allowed on the forum can you recommend a good resource? I know nothing about x10 but I have a decent engineering aptitude...
jjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 06:22 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Two motion sensors on one circuit?


Here are two links to web sites with these products.

http://www.smarthome.com/

http://www.x10pro.com/

Since you are good at engineering, you should be able to sort out all the details about designing something that will work for you.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 06:27 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Two motion sensors on one circuit?


I found a good explaination of almost exactly what you originally asked.

http://www.smarthome.com/4087.html

jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Conflicting Circuit Info!?? BenBil Electrical 9 01-15-2007 08:26 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.