Two Main Breakers? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2012, 10:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Two Main Breakers?


Our proposed new service entrance equipment is a meter socket with disconnect (200 Amp), all in one exterior mounted box. The Main Panel it feeds (in the basement) also has a Main Breaker (200 Amp). Any problem here or must the Main panel in the basement be lug? Thanks for your time.

Advertisement

steadyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:18 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,017
Rewards Points: 2,832
Default

Two Main Breakers?


The inside breaker will just be redundant means to turn the power off.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
main breaker , service entrance


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100AMP Main board off a 100AMP Main Fuse cmarcus3031 Electrical 18 03-19-2014 11:17 PM
building a main and sub panels for 2 remote buildings n175h Electrical 30 12-20-2011 03:09 PM
Main panel breakers, balanced loading? WoodmanFL Electrical 13 12-11-2011 08:40 PM
Dual Main Breakers dcwestcott Electrical 3 02-23-2009 08:26 PM
Help! Circuit breakers in trouble Circuit breakers Electrical 9 12-22-2008 01:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts