Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-21-2013, 11:56 AM   #46
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,874
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rosem637 View Post
No trickery or play on words. I'll post answer tomorrow morn or maybe later this evening
Rose... before you post, can you tell us the distinct rules that I asked in above post....

Thanks

Peter

__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 12:16 PM   #47
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
There are no codes for switches to be required in rooms/halls/stairs that enter/exit....
Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Yep, same as the NEC, a wall controlled lighting outlet is required, but this mentions nothing about where the switch is located, the NEC is moot on this because it is purely a design issue.

Your words ....

And simply not true ....210.70(A)(3). At the very least


And if you really read 210.70(A)(1) both exceptions #1 and # 2 why are there exceptions ??

Exceptions to what .....hee heee hee the wall switch


I go back to 90(C) ........."or an instruction manual for untrained persons"
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 12:27 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
But what are the rules. What is definition of "regular switch" SPST or SPDT and no DPxDT (4way)... how many switches are you allowed at each location (floor)...
... and do the lights have to be able to be turned off at each location also?

A simple on-off switch: SPST like below. The two terminals are either connected together or disconnected from each other.

There is only one switch. But with this one switch the light at the top of the stairwell must be able to be controlled from all locations/floors

And yes the light must be able to be turned off from each location/floor.


here is the criteria again so you dont have to go back to page 3

In a stairwell for a four(4) story apartment building.
One(1) single pole switch controls a light bulb at the top of stairwell.
The switch can be controlled from each landing/floor.
How??

no remote switches, wireless switches or clappers.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by rosem637; 05-21-2013 at 12:37 PM.
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:20 PM   #49
Member
 
bobgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


One of these guys hanging down the middle of the stairwell so it can be reached from every level?? Lol.

bobgodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:32 PM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobgodd View Post
One of these guys hanging down the middle of the stairwell so it can be reached from every level?? Lol.
laugh if you will but you are on the right track
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:34 PM   #51
Member
 
bobgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rosem637 View Post
laugh if you will but you are on the right track
I only laugh because I'm so far from an expert. I'm the clueless homeowner who started this thread
bobgodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:36 PM   #52
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,874
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rosem637 View Post
A simple on-off switch: SPST like below. The two terminals are either connected together or disconnected from each other.

There is only one switch. But with this one switch the light at the top of the stairwell must be able to be controlled from all locations/floors

And yes the light must be able to be turned off from each location/floor.


here is the criteria again so you dont have to go back to page 3

In a stairwell for a four(4) story apartment building.
One(1) single pole switch controls a light bulb at the top of stairwell.
The switch can be controlled from each landing/floor.
How??

no remote switches, wireless switches or clappers.
Can ya disclose... Is it necessarily a toggle/rocker switch...
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:37 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
Can ya disclose... Is it necessarily a toggle/rocker switch...
I will disclose that it is not your typical wall light switch, toggle or rocker or decora.
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:37 PM   #54
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,874
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


is the switch on a rope
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:37 PM   #55
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,816
Rewards Points: 2,430
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
Your words ....

And simply not true ....210.70(A)(3). At the very least


And if you really read 210.70(A)(1) both exceptions #1 and # 2 why are there exceptions ??

Exceptions to what .....hee heee hee the wall switch


I go back to 90(C) ........."or an instruction manual for untrained persons"
Article 210.70 only says that lighting outlets need to be installed in certain rooms of which a switched receptacle would satisfy. Other rooms(kitchens and bathrooms) the switched receptacle is not acceptable and the lighting outlet is required.

BTW, there is no requirement for a fixture to be installed at the lighting outlet.

The location of the switch is silent except for a few select locations like the attic, basements, and some stair landings. Someone could install all the other switches in one room and still satisfy the NEC.

I will paraphrase the Charlie B rule for you. Sometimes the NEC does not say what you think it says.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-21-2013), stickboy1375 (05-21-2013)
Old 05-21-2013, 01:38 PM   #56
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,874
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Pull chain....
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:39 PM   #57
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
is the switch on a rope
I think you have it. Yes a rope(or long chain) is involved.
Attached Thumbnails
Two light switches in-line to lights?-stairwell.jpg  
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rosem637 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-21-2013)
Old 05-21-2013, 01:41 PM   #58
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,342
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


deleted, duplicate
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 01:44 PM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


once you found out the switch was not the typical light switch the ball started rolling
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rosem637 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-21-2013)
Old 05-21-2013, 01:47 PM   #60
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,874
Rewards Points: 2,018
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rosem637 View Post
I think you have it. Yes a rope(or long chain) is involved.
Good


Sometimes.... much like code as as Jim points out.... our minds assume something that are not evidenced in fact.


OK.... So quote me the code section on how long that cord can be, it's tensile streangth, and kind of knot that connects it to the pull chain.

Peter

__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-21-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why are switches placed furthest from light? cypherx Electrical 17 06-21-2012 06:48 PM
Replacing multi-use light switches jimclark Electrical 4 08-30-2011 03:05 PM
3-way switches, lights, and a photoelectric switch. Your thoughts? Fox Electrical 7 11-23-2010 11:08 AM
2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1 bldaz Electrical 9 12-24-2009 07:42 PM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.