Two Light Switches In-line To Lights? - Electrical - Page 10 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 07:40 PM   #136
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
Neat.... What kinda price (equipment) parameters are involved and THANKS

Peter
Main repeater is around $400

600 watt dimmers around $125 ea.
1000 watt dimmers around $175 ea.

6 button keypads around $250 ea.
table tops controllers around $400 ea.


This system is not for the average person, in case you couldn't tell.

In the pics I posted, the cost was probably about $2,750 worth of hardware, (plus mark up on material) not including what we already installed in the master bed and bath suite...

Also, you have to take a course from Lutron to get certified to install the hardware and receive the software to actually program the devices, which is good in one way, because it forces the end user to call us back to reprogram if changes are to be made.

Advertisement


Last edited by stickboy1375; 05-23-2013 at 07:45 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-23-2013), Philly Master (05-23-2013)
Old 05-23-2013, 10:31 PM   #137
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


LOL ... good i have a question for you ... i need to take a picture first .. and i'll start new thread ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:35 PM   #138
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master
LOL ... good i have a question for you ... i need to take a picture first .. and i'll start new thread ...
go for it...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 11:26 PM   #139
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,974
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
go for it...
yeah.... Personally I learn alot. Thanjks
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 01:49 PM   #140
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Stickboy,

1. Ya got a 110.26(E)(1)(a) with those pipes under the panel.

2 How did you a plaster ring on a 2 gang plastic nail on box?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 02:16 PM   #141
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Stickboy,

1. Ya got a 110.26(E)(1)(a) with those pipes under the panel.

2 How did you a plaster ring on a 2 gang plastic nail on box?
It's not all my work, the plumbers do that **** all the time, and I used a 4" sq. new work plastic, not a 2 gang switch box.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 02:43 PM   #142
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
It's not all my work, the plumbers do that **** all the time, and I used a 4" sq. new work plastic, not a 2 gang switch box.
I was just teasing on the 110.26 thing, figured it was existing anyways.

I do little resi and have not seen that box before. Are they common?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 03:09 PM   #143
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
I was just teasing on the 110.26 thing, figured it was existing anyways.

I do little resi and have not seen that box before. Are they common?
Most of the houses I do want the receptacles horizontal, it's the easiest way to accoumplish this. Just turn the mud ring. the boxes are very common.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 03:18 PM   #144
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Most of the houses I do want the receptacles horizontal, it's the easiest way to accoumplish this. Just turn the mud ring. the boxes are very common.
I have put recs in a backslash horizontally, but never a regular wall. Interesting. Must be a local thing.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 03:52 PM   #145
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
I have put recs in a backslash horizontally, but never a regular wall. Interesting. Must be a local thing.
It's not a local thing, just an architect thing. High end custom housing. You should see the stuff we do.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 06:47 PM   #146
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
I have put recs in a backslash horizontally, but never a regular wall. Interesting. Must be a local thing.


Check out the set of prints on the house i'm wiring now....

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 07:12 PM   #147
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,994
Rewards Points: 2,786
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


I would not want my switches mounted that low.

I would also consolidate the low voltage into one plate.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 07:29 PM   #148
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Check out the set of prints on the house i'm wiring now....
Cool, I wire these units for a living right now.

https://www.fas.org/man/dod-101/sys/...sh2013/110.pdf
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:14 PM   #149
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I would not want my switches mounted that low.

I would also consolidate the low voltage into one plate.
Jim, the switch locations are laid out that way for art work on the walls, to ensure there will not be an issue.



the telephone jack picture is just a generac graphic to show that height as well.


I just had a job meeting this evening with the homeowners, the switches have been raised, the receptacles lowered into the baseboard... its going to be a VERY long job....

Last edited by stickboy1375; 05-29-2013 at 08:16 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:16 PM   #150
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Two light switches in-line to lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Cool, I wire these units for a living right now.

https://www.fas.org/man/dod-101/sys/...sh2013/110.pdf
Very cool!

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why are switches placed furthest from light? cypherx Electrical 17 06-21-2012 06:48 PM
Replacing multi-use light switches jimclark Electrical 4 08-30-2011 03:05 PM
3-way switches, lights, and a photoelectric switch. Your thoughts? Fox Electrical 7 11-23-2010 11:08 AM
2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1 bldaz Electrical 9 12-24-2009 07:42 PM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts