Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2013, 11:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 22
Share |
Default

two hots, one neutral?


Looking at a main panel, I see 14-3 w ground coming in. black connected to breaker 1, red connected to breaker 2, and white/ground connected to the ground bus. Its not 220... wth? Is this legal/safe? Seems wrong to me, I thought every hot should have a dedicated "white" return.

fj5gtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:09 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,366
Default

two hots, one neutral?


This is called a multi wire branch circuit MWBC.
The voltage between the black and red must be 240 volts. The breakers must handle tied or a double pole breaker so that both off together. If installed properly(240 volts between hots) they are perfectly safe. WE use them all time in Canada for kitchen counter split wired receptacles.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
fj5gtx (07-09-2013)
Old 07-08-2013, 11:28 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

two hots, one neutral?


If it was installed prior to the 08 code adoption, it's legal unless it supplied a receptacle with the tabs broken.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:36 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 22
Default

two hots, one neutral?


I just checked with my volt meter, the red and black is 240v apart... but on separate half breakers, many slots separated. House was built in PA, circa 1988. I have 3 of these circuits, none of them have tied handles or are marked in any special way.

Sounds like its electrically safe... but I'll be adding other circuits that will cause an inspection, what should I do to make these 3 circuits pass that inspection?

Thanks!
fj5gtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:42 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

two hots, one neutral?


As long as you're not doing anything with those circuits they're fine as is. You can't be made to bring something up to code that was legal when it was installed. It's called "grandfathered"
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wirenut1110 For This Useful Post:
fj5gtx (07-09-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Common Neutral in Jct Box??? PastorKramer Electrical 5 11-20-2012 06:10 AM
No neutral bus bar in 220v sub panel! to3032 Electrical 10 07-04-2012 02:29 PM
Splicing Aluminum to Copper Wire dc4nomore Electrical 28 05-08-2012 01:56 PM
installing new dedicated circuit - neutral bus full 7green Electrical 12 05-03-2011 01:32 PM
Main disconnect neutral wiring Daniel Holzman Electrical 5 10-04-2009 01:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.