Two Hot Switches To Same Appliance - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2012, 01:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

two hot switches to same appliance


can i run a hot wire from a switch to a cooler & another hot wire from the same source thru another switch to the cooler & an exhaust vent? sometimes both switches would be on. does that double up the amps or trip the breaker or ?

Advertisement

51grizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 01:54 PM   #2
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,301
Rewards Points: 3,242
Default

two hot switches to same appliance


Don't do that--if both wire are from different legs in the breaker box you will have a 240 volt short.

If they are from different breakers ,but same leg--you will energize the entire circuit when one breaker is shut off.

What are you trying to do? Would a simple 3-way switch circuit work for you?

Advertisement

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
51grizzly (04-08-2012)
Old 04-08-2012, 04:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

two hot switches to same appliance


it's a commercial hood vent w/cooler & exhaust that come on at the same time w/one switch. trying to turn on the cooler separately, but then the cooler & exhaust need to come on w/one switch.
a 3-way switch would work. didn't think of it. off/cooler/both!
MANY THNX!
51grizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 51grizzly For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (04-08-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two 3-way switches, one acting as a master switch? Ler0y Jenkins Electrical 10 02-28-2012 01:01 PM
Wall Switches - with unknown termination cbjr Electrical 6 02-21-2012 09:15 PM
Replacing old switches RyanS2000 Electrical 4 09-11-2011 04:21 PM
2 Lights & 3 switches, doesn't look right curious1 Electrical 1 10-26-2010 11:26 PM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts