Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 09:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: crimson tide country
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

two ground rods?


i have just read in an electrical reference book that states a 400 amp exterior service panel must have two ground rods spaced six feet apart. i have searched and searched in the NEC but cannot find that info anywhere. is this true and if so where in the codebook? the closest thing i can find is article 250.24 (3) and it is referencing dual feed services. it says one will do. this service will have one line side feed pair of 350 mcm or maybe 500. can't remember for sure what power company said, but it will not be two sets of parallel lines coming in. one or two ground rods guys?

buddy builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:02 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

two ground rods?


At least one ground rod is required by code. In order to install only one ground rod, you must be able to prove that its resistance to ground is less than 25 ohms. If you cannot prove this, you need to install a second rod. Most people install two rods from the get-go because proving <25 Ohms is more difficult and more expensive than installing the second rod.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (12-28-2012)
Old 12-27-2012, 10:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: crimson tide country
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 0
Default

two ground rods?


thanks k buz. good advice. go packers. i just can't quite comprehend your last sentence unless you meant it's cheaper to do it at time of installation rather than a later trip. ???
buddy builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: crimson tide country
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 0
Default

two ground rods?


gotcha. thanks.
buddy builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:13 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

two ground rods?


The testing equipment is rather expensive and the testing is rather specific. It's much easier to drive the 2nd ground rod and be done with it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: crimson tide country
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 0
Default

two ground rods?


i can believe that. thanks so much.
buddy builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:09 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Rewards Points: 0
Default

two ground rods?


(Even if a contractor has to make a second trip to install the second ground rod, that total job will probably cost less than choosing instead a contractor who possessed the needed test equipment to prove that one rod is sufficient and who installed and tested the rod all in one trip.)
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:20 AM   #8
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Rewards Points: 0
Default

two ground rods?


Quote:
Originally Posted by buddy builder View Post
thanks k buz. good advice. go packers. i just can't quite comprehend your last sentence unless you meant it's cheaper to do it at time of installation rather than a later trip. ???
The contractor would also have to wait at the job site for the EI to witness the test. Here in NJ I have three days to complete an inspection ( not that that is the norm) but it could happen.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bosch 11245EVS Rotary Hammer Drill for Ground Rods tedallen Tools 0 06-02-2012 04:52 PM
Hilti TE 52 for Driving Ground Rods tedallen Tools 6 04-23-2012 09:34 PM
Parallel path to Ground - I'm confused as usual robertmee Electrical 13 04-03-2011 09:37 AM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.