Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2013, 09:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Two feeds to one circuit?


A light on my garage had a feed to a 3way switch at the front door, 14/3 to a 3way switch at the garage door, and then 14/2 to the light.
I put in timer that turns the light on at sunset (which the timer calculates by date and latitude!) and off at 11:30. There was no room in the box by the front door, so I put it in at the garage; using a feed from another light in that box that is on the same circuit.

Can I attach one of the travelers from the switch at the front door to the wire going to the light? That way if I want the lights on when the timer has them off, I can just do it at the front door. I can't turn them off from the front door when the timer wants them on, but you can't have everything.
Any problem with this I am overlooking?

Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:01 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Two feeds to one circuit?


I'm confused as to what the set up is here.

I know its not related to your question, but be sure to be using breakers rated for 15 amp or less. No 20's here. Also, I've used those automatic switches and like them.

Maybe you can rephrase the situation and question?

chris_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:04 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Two feeds to one circuit?


Which timer did you buy exactly? Im sure they make a three way timer?
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:20 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Two feeds to one circuit?


I can't speak for the original poster, but I used one like this:

http://www.safetyed.org/ge7-daysmart...itchwhite.aspx

Around $29 at Home Depot. It has a button that goes over all of the small buttons so it is really easy to use and override once it is set up.
chris_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimming lights on one circuit, GFCI breaker tripped boatman537 Electrical 4 06-05-2012 10:43 AM
Bathroom Fan/Outlets on Same Circuit rjschwar Electrical 6 04-22-2011 10:56 AM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 05:00 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.