Two Devices On A 240v Circuit??? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2010, 11:07 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Two devices on a 240v circuit???


I bought an air compressor (15 FLA) last weekend that I need to install. I have a 50a 240v circuit w/ a single outlet in my garage. Would it be possible to hard wire the compressor into the existing circuit, while leaving the outlet installed for when I want to use my welder?

Or would it be better to just install a power cord w/ plug on the compressor and unplug it when I want to use the welder?

Advertisement

mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 11:29 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Two devices on a 240v circuit???


While the voltage may be the same the compressor needs to be protected by a smaller overcurrent protection device. This could be a 20 amp 240 volt circuit wired with #12 wire.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 02:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Two devices on a 240v circuit???


Thanks for the help Jim! Both machines require a 30a breaker. I just got off the phone with Lincoln Electric and Campbell Hausfeld.

Would it be possible to hardwire the compressor in while also having an outlet (knowing I would never use both at the same time). Or would it be better to just leave the one outlet and install a cord w/ plug on the compressor and just plug each one in as I need them?

FYI- This is for home use and I don't use each tool but maybe twice a month.
mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 08:57 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,975
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

Two devices on a 240v circuit???


Just my opinion, I would go with cord and plug usage.

Prevents breaker tripping if you forgot to turn off the hard wired compressor and it cycled on while you were using the plug in welder.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-09-2010 at 08:59 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Planning circuit layout for barn tbeaulieu Electrical 8 04-08-2010 10:38 AM
Can't get the master circuit breaker properly seated davefoc Electrical 1 03-22-2010 07:17 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Open circuit has power, close the circuit no power??? BeginnerHomeDIY Electrical 7 07-08-2009 03:40 PM
Adding an outlet on a 240V circuit? Kjunk Electrical 6 05-31-2008 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts