Two Circuits In Single Conduit? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2010, 09:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Two circuits in single conduit?


I've only worked with romex homeruns in the past and am new to the world of conduit and THHN so please pardon my ignorance. I would like to have two 20A GFCI outlets in a outdoor two-gang box with a two-gang in-use cover, with each outlet having its own dedicated 20A breaker. Is it legal to run both circuits back to the load center in a single conduit? Do I have to use an additional color to eliminate confusion or can I stick with black and white for both circuits? Finally, can these two circuits share a ground?

Advertisement

Codi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 09:26 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Two circuits in single conduit?


the MUST share a ground. Yes, you can run multiple circuits in the conduit. No, as long as the neutrals are gray or white and the ground is green or bare, the other wires can be just about any color you want to use.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 09:27 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,004
Rewards Points: 2,806
Default

Two circuits in single conduit?


Yes you can run two circuits in one conduit. The ground can be shared.

The neutrals will need to be paired with the respective hot for the GFI to work properly. Simply taping the pairs together is enough.

Two black and white pairs are fine.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 09:35 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Two circuits in single conduit?


Thank you. Your answers were exactly what I was hoping for.
Codi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 10:44 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Two circuits in single conduit?


If you are in one of the conduit city codes like Chicago or couple area they will have few extra codes add to it and I know not too long ago someone did asked about the colour codes and I will find it and post it litte later.


Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem w/ two 240v baseboard circuits on single double-pole switch. Skypalace Electrical 18 03-21-2010 05:16 PM
Conduit through garage to house. Max wires? RyanD Electrical 12 08-02-2009 06:12 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM
#3 AWG Copper SER / PVC Conduit Question djejay75 Electrical 4 12-12-2008 12:40 AM
single pole vs. double pole circuits DannoW Electrical 7 07-21-2008 10:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts