Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2010, 12:11 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Question

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


Hi.

I want to install two single pole 20A breakers and have 1 #12 wire go to 1 20A receptacle inside a double Box.

I know code requires only 1 breaker per junction box but can I do either of this two prevent the issue of someone only turning off 1 of the 2 breakers when servicing the junction box.


1. Have my two Single Pole 20A breakers connecteced together (I'm assuming you install a pin throught the holes on the two switches to tie them together. (1st Option)

2. If there is no way to connect two single pole breakers and make them into 1 so if one blows they both turn off, is to install a double pole 20A breaker both into the same bus (so it won't be 220) and have the 2 wires go from there to Receptacle A and the other wire go to Receptacle B.



I need this extra power requirement for an office space building and working on computers. (typically my computers all run 400 to 1200W each, this is why I need 20A circuit and space limitations require the double box.

This is in Canada, residential


Thanks

mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 05:36 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


The easiest way to accomplish this is to install a multi-wire branch circuit, and use a double-pole breaker.

But, it appears you want both of these circuits to be fed from the same phase or leg of your service. A couple of tandem breakers with a handle tie would work in this case. You will have to install a separate neutral conductor for each circuit in this scenario.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 05:38 AM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


I am not sure abour Canadian code requirements. So please wait for someone who knows Canadian code to verify whether you can do any of the stuff I am about to write.

Here in the US, you CAN have two separate circuits in one J-Box. A good recommendation here is to clearly mark the wires and make sure the neutrals don't go to the wrong devices.



Maybe a MWBC (multiwire branch circuit) makes sense here? This is where you take a 3-wire cable, connect black to one breaker, red to another, and white to neutral. The two breakers must be on different buses (so, next to each other vertically). Then you tie the handles together with a handle tie.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:14 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
The easiest way to accomplish this is to install a multi-wire branch circuit, and use a double-pole breaker.

But, it appears you want both of these circuits to be fed from the same phase or leg of your service. A couple of tandem breakers with a handle tie would work in this case. You will have to install a separate neutral conductor for each circuit in this scenario.
Ditto
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 08:38 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,920
Rewards Points: 2,634
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


In Option two it sounds like you are only runing one wire for recepatlce 2 or did you mean one cable. You must run two separate cable if you want the breakers to be on the same. If there is not some specific reason for the same pahse then use a MWBC and a double pole breaker.
Don't forget you must use the 20amp T slot receptacles for a 20 amp circuit. Tamper resistant are also code now.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 08:52 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
In Option two it sounds like you are only runing one wire for recepatlce 2 or did you mean one cable. You must run two separate cable if you want the breakers to be on the same. If there is not some specific reason for the same pahse then use a MWBC and a double pole breaker.
Don't forget you must use the 20amp T slot receptacles for a 20 amp circuit. Tamper resistant are also code now.
A 15 amp duplex is perfctly acceptable on a 20 amp circuit. A single recep would need to be 20 amp, not a duplex which is considered 2 receptacle. s.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 02:42 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,920
Rewards Points: 2,634
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
A 15 amp duplex is perfctly acceptable on a 20 amp circuit. A single recep would need to be 20 amp, not a duplex which is considered 2 receptacle. s.

Not in Canada it isn't. The OP stated he is Canada. If it is a 20 amp circuit you must use 20 amp receptacles. They can be the T slots that take 15 amp devices or they can be the 20 amp only with the sideways prong.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 03:03 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Not in Canada it isn't. The OP stated he is Canada. If it is a 20 amp circuit you must use 20 amp receptacles. They can be the T slots that take 15 amp devices or they can be the 20 amp only with the sideways prong.
Sorry, not familiar with Canadian codes.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 10:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


Yes 1 -12/2 wire from a 20A single pole breaker into Recepticle A and 1 -12/2 wire from a 20A single pole breaker into Recepticle B.

Both receptacle A & B are in the same junction box WITHOUT a divider.

I have looked into it more and YES you must use a double pole breaker or tie the two single poles breakers together.

Can someone send me a link to a picture that has this "connector/tie" it would be for a Federal Pioneer if it matters.

Thanks
mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 07:28 AM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Two Breakers for 1 Double Recepticle Box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mfleming View Post
Yes 1 -12/2 wire from a 20A single pole breaker into Recepticle A and 1 -12/2 wire from a 20A single pole breaker into Recepticle B.

Both receptacle A & B are in the same junction box WITHOUT a divider.

I have looked into it more and YES you must use a double pole breaker or tie the two single poles breakers together.

Can someone send me a link to a picture that has this "connector/tie" it would be for a Federal Pioneer if it matters.

Thanks
Your configuration would not require a double pole breaker or handle ties although it might be a good idea. Unless it is a Canadian requirement.

It looks similar to this.


Last edited by brric; 03-10-2010 at 07:40 AM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double switch wiring rockclimber Electrical 18 03-18-2012 10:13 PM
240V 2 pole 1/2 inch GE breakers? Isaac-1 Electrical 12 02-09-2010 11:21 AM
Eliminating Double Taps in Older Sylvania 200A Panel Reilley Electrical 14 01-11-2009 04:52 PM
Help! Circuit breakers in trouble Circuit breakers Electrical 9 12-22-2008 12:58 PM
Double Breaker, 4X price! fw2007 Electrical 6 05-01-2008 06:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.