Two Appliances On A Single 15A Breaker. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2010, 02:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Two appliances on a single 15A breaker.


Hi! Is it safe to run a 20 cuft freezer and a 3.5 cuft front load washer on a single 15A breaker with #14x2 wire.

Advertisement

Adnan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 02:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Two appliances on a single 15A breaker.


What are the power draws for each item ?

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:01 PM   #3
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Two appliances on a single 15A breaker.


it will probably just trip the breaker,can you run a seperate 20a circuit for one of the appliances?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:12 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,355
Rewards Points: 3,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Two appliances on a single 15A breaker.


Probably won't be a problem since the washer is very low usage item.
However if this is new wiring the laundry circuit needs to be dedicated to the laundry room only.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Two appliances on a single 15A breaker.


My washer is listed as 7a, probably when it starts the spin cycle

My 11cu ft freezer is rated at 5a

It would really suck if the washer kicks the breaker off & you don't notice
So if you are going to do laundry don't leave the house
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 03:46 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Two appliances on a single 15A breaker.


is it safe?

yes. If the circuit is overloaded, the breaker will trip and all will be well, except for the food in the freezer.



Joed, being in canada would be one of the best sources here for what is legal or not.

is the installation a good idea?

I would say no. start up loads on either appliance would challenge the 15 amp breaker and then if the other appliance is running at the same time "pop goes the breaker".

Personally, I would never do it and recommend that it not be done. Too much chance of costing you more in lost food than what it would take to run another circuit.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Breaker, working in reverse dcwestcott Electrical 4 04-06-2009 04:03 PM
Tandem Breaker and Circuit(s) whowadat Electrical 1 01-09-2009 05:13 AM
I can "double" the wires to each breaker in my breaker panel right? Piedmont Electrical 40 10-01-2008 12:18 PM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 03:44 PM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-15-2004 12:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts