Two 3 Way Switches For Outside Lights. Timer Install - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2011, 12:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

two 3 way switches for outside lights. Timer install


Two three was switches. One inside, one in garage. Inside switch wired..common (into the White/brass screw), black to black screw and red to another brass screw, ground to ground. similar connections at the garage switch. Timer has R,W,B,G...appears no combination of connections works..do I need a jumper or just doing something wrong? And where should the time be, garage or inside?
Thanks very frustrating

Advertisement


Last edited by DP47va; 06-20-2011 at 12:52 PM. Reason: word change
DP47va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 12:59 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

two 3 way switches for outside lights. Timer install


Quote:
Originally Posted by DP47va View Post
Two three was switches. One inside, one in garage. Inside switch wired..common (into the White/brass screw), black to black screw and red to another brass screw, ground to ground. similar connections at the garage switch. Timer has R,W,B,G...appears no combination of connections works..do I need a jumper or just doing something wrong? And where should the time be, garage or inside?
Thanks very frustrating
If all you have at each switch are the wires connected to the switch, it won't work... the timer needs a neutral which you don't appear to have.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HouseHelper For This Useful Post:
DP47va (06-20-2011)
Old 06-20-2011, 01:05 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

two 3 way switches for outside lights. Timer install


What the model number of that timer switch ?? due some of the timers you will have to use real netural not the remarked white { common to use on 3 way switch useage } the only way you can snag a legit netural if you look inside the switch box you should see extra netural conductor in there.

If not sure then try to take a photo and upload it here and we can go from there as well.

However let me warn you with the timers if you get one without netural connection becarefull with bulb slection some of the timers will NOT work with LED or CFL bulbs.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
DP47va (06-20-2011)
Old 06-20-2011, 01:22 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

two 3 way switches for outside lights. Timer install


Timer is a UtiliTECH #0192773
DP47va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 01:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

two 3 way switches for outside lights. Timer install


Can I get a neutral WHITE wire directly from the 'twist' connector of other whites in the box..going to the another switch in the box? There are other wires in the junction box ..actually three with w-b and one with w-b-r
..or why so much confusion ..I've seen several diagrams even several claiming to use jumpers.
DP47va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:15 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,355
Rewards Points: 3,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

two 3 way switches for outside lights. Timer install


You need a three way timer that does not require a neutral. I don't think that timer will work for your application. It it is only a single pole timer.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
DP47va (06-20-2011)
Old 06-20-2011, 09:37 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

two 3 way switches for outside lights. Timer install


Quote:
Originally Posted by DP47va View Post
Timer is a UtiliTECH #0192773
I did do a little digging and that timer is NOT a three way at all so you will have to exchange for correct three way timer useage { make sure you get one sans netural conductor requirment}

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
DP47va (06-20-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Switches / 2 Lights / 1 Receptacle RickyBobby Electrical 6 05-12-2011 02:46 PM
How to install flood lights above a shed whatrymes Electrical 6 05-08-2011 04:23 PM
Basement lighting circuit - multiple lights and switches, end of circuit cmyk Electrical 2 03-03-2011 03:39 PM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM
Help... Trying to install can lights on the first floor of a two story house... whutitdew25 Electrical 5 03-17-2008 01:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts