Twisting Wires Inside Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2012, 06:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 429
Rewards Points: 268
Default

Twisting wires inside box


Is it ok to twist wires like this inside a box?


Advertisement


Last edited by adgjqetuo; 08-31-2012 at 06:34 PM.
adgjqetuo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:35 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,239
Rewards Points: 2,388
Default

Twisting wires inside box


It is not a code violation but it looks amateurish. Also, don't leave so much cable sheath in the box (1/4-1/2" is plenty). But not nearly as bad as this.


Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:51 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

Twisting wires inside box


The tabs in the back of the box are supposed to hold the cable in the box. They should not have been broken out. The box should be replaced.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
electures (09-01-2012)
Old 08-31-2012, 08:54 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,239
Rewards Points: 2,388
Default

Twisting wires inside box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The tabs in the back of the box are supposed to hold the cable in the box. They should not have been broken out. The box should be replaced.
Jim,

Can you see that in the photo the OP posted or in the second photo that I posted?

RJ
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:04 PM   #5
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Twisting wires inside box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Jim,

Can you see that in the photo the OP posted or in the second photo that I posted?

RJ
I can see that in the OP photo.

either that or they didn't thread the romex in the right way.

look at bottom left inbound wire.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 429
Rewards Points: 268
Default

Twisting wires inside box


I think he's talking about my photo. The one tab on my box is broken off. I know it should be replaced but I honestly don't feel like taking apart all those wires and redoing everything right now. I know it's not correct, but at the same time the wire isn't going to go anywhere.
adgjqetuo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:07 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

Twisting wires inside box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Jim,

Can you see that in the photo the OP posted or in the second photo that I posted?

RJ
Posted by the Op, bottom of box, white cable.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:52 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,239
Rewards Points: 2,388
Default

Twisting wires inside box


OK I see it now. You guys have a lot better eyes than mine.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 01:00 AM   #9
DIY Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Twisting wires inside box


In single gang boxes aren't you allowed to break out the tabs? I know several of those boxes only have break outs, not the bendy tabs. I think the caveat is that you have to staple the wire within 8" or something to that effect.

Anyways, it annoys the crap out of me when wires are all twisted up like that. In my house the last guy to work on the electrical twisted everything up similar to the picture and the result is that most of the time I have to cut and expose fresh wire because if I try to un-twist the copper snaps off...
ajmckay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:32 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Twisting wires inside box


In some single gang nail-on boxes there are only knock-outs, no clamp. As you mentioned, in this situation you have to staple the cable closer to the box.

As for the OP, I HATE seeing things like that because it's so hard to work on. Twist the wires until there is one or two twists down past where the skirt of the wire nut goes to, that's all you need. Anything more simply makes it harder to shape into the box and much harder to work on later.

Also, it's a big pet peeve of mine to see cable insulation in the box. There is no need, cut it off where the cable enters the box.

Wow, I am a Negative Nelly today
NECHater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:25 AM   #11
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Twisting wires inside box


Quote:
Originally Posted by adgjqetuo View Post
Is it ok to twist wires like this inside a box?

Twisting the conductors is fine, but that is a little overdone. It can cause a little stress on the conductors. I have seen broken conductors from twisting too tight. A real pain-in-a$$ to trouble shoot. Although the installation instructions for the wire connectors do not require twisting, I prefer twisting the splices just a little. Enough so the splice doesn't come apart while trouble shooting (not my work).
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 11:26 AM   #12
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Twisting wires inside box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
It is not a code violation but it looks amateurish. Also, don't leave so much cable sheath in the box (1/4-1/2" is plenty). But not nearly as bad as this.

This picture just screams "trunk slammer".
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
jbfan (09-01-2012)
Old 09-01-2012, 03:12 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 971
Rewards Points: 764
Default

Twisting wires inside box


Quote:
Originally Posted by NECHater View Post
Also, it's a big pet peeve of mine to see cable insulation in the box. There is no need, cut it off where the cable enters the box.
Isn't it code to leave a certain amount in the box? Between 1/2 an inch and an inch or so?
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:43 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Twisting wires inside box


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegp View Post
Isn't it code to leave a certain amount in the box? Between 1/2 an inch and an inch or so?
.25 inches, and there is no reason for any more than that. If a little more comes thru by accident, fine. But there is no reason for 1 inch or more sheath to be in the box. It simply makes no sense, it's like taping wirenuts, the only people who do it are people who shouldn't be doing electrical work.
NECHater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 04:55 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Twisting wires inside box


Looks like the wires were twisted with a drill!

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tool for twisting really short threaded nipples from inside amakarevic Plumbing 2 08-11-2011 07:30 PM
Neutral Wires Hot Problem rayray221 Electrical 7 09-20-2010 12:20 PM
Ceiling Fan installation, 3 sets of wires in ceiling southnam Electrical 3 09-13-2010 04:00 PM
Is this normal? 20A circuit 20A wires feed 15A wires walt1122 Electrical 14 02-06-2010 03:44 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts