Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2011, 11:29 AM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Yes, nuts alone are fine. But, I too don't really trust myself unless I pre-twist.

Also, taping over wire nuts is bad karma.
Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Taping wirenuts is a sign of an amature.
The only time I put electrical tape on wirenuts is the motour peckerhead that is the only place due the viberations but for anything else heck no I will not bother with tape that look ugly.

And for any readers if you are thinking take the wirenut off make sure that the circuit is COMPLETY off and pay attetion if you have MWBC { multi wire branch circuit } MAKE sure it is complety 100% off on both leg or phases espcally with netural on MWBC they can get ya if not heed the warning.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 08:05 PM   #17
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


I love and hate this topic

From the consensus, it seems I'm one of the few that doesn't pre-twist.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 02:31 AM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
I love and hate this topic

From the consensus, it seems I'm one of the few that doesn't pre-twist.
I do pretwist or not depending on the conductor however 50% of the time I will use wirenut the other time I will use the Choc block connector { simauir to the DIN rail mount connecting block }

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 02:37 AM   #19
Jack of All Trades
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


lol, I never used to pre-twist until I got serious about fixing up my house, I tried it and I noticed that at the very least it makes me "feel" a lot better about thinking I have a solid connection that won't spring apart a year from now. As far as taping, I only do that if it's a metal box, just to prevent any contact, but if it's plastic I don't bother, can't stand that gooey residue it leaves when it gets old.
DoctorWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 08:34 AM   #20
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorWho View Post
As far as taping, I only do that if it's a metal box, just to prevent any contact, but if it's plastic I don't bother, can't stand that gooey residue it leaves when it gets old.
Do you wrap tape around the receptacle to protect the screws too. I've seen that, really stupid and messy. There is no need for tape inside a box except to remark a white.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 10:18 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 815
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Do you wrap tape around the receptacle to protect the screws too. I've seen that, really stupid and messy
To a man, every single commercial electrician who I would consider a very good electrician tapes around the side of a receptacle when steel boxes are being used.

So I would say your all encompassing statement is blatantly wrong and ignorant
Anti-wingnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:04 AM   #22
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post

So I would say your all encompassing statement is blatantly wrong and ignorant
It is an opinion, but it is in NO WAY "blatantly wrong and ignorant".
WHY is tape needed when one, especially in a commercial environment, is not supposed to working hot in the first place??
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (06-22-2011)
Old 06-22-2011, 11:06 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 815
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Yea right, no hot work
Anti-wingnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:08 AM   #24
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
To a man, every single commercial electrician who I would consider a very good electrician tapes around the side of a receptacle when steel boxes are being used.

So I would say your all encompassing statement is blatantly wrong and ignorant
When I did commercial I did not tape either a wire nut or a device.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
electures (06-22-2011)
Old 06-22-2011, 11:13 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 815
Rewards Points: 550
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


My point was that saying it was "stupid" is a wrong statement. There are plently of very good electricians, which e7 is not, who feel that taping the device is a smart safety step. For e7 to critisize something he does not understand is wrong. Running a soldering gun does not an electrician make
Anti-wingnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:43 AM   #26
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
Yea right, no hot work
Maybe so, but taping things up is not a safety backup. If you are relying on tape on wire nuts or devices to save you when working hot you are not very smart.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:12 PM   #27
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
My point was that saying it was "stupid" is a wrong statement. There are plently of very good electricians, which e7 is not, who feel that taping the device is a smart safety step. For e7 to critisize something he does not understand is wrong. Running a soldering gun does not an electrician make
Every time I have to peel electrical tape off a switch or outlet that the former HOer used I CURSE THEIR NAME!! It makes working on outlets or switches a major PITA.

I've even found some outlets in plastic boxes that were taped. Sheesh.

What don't you think e7 understands? That you should NEVER EVER EVER work 'Hot' so taping is a unnecessary and annoying step.

BTW. Seems like a lot of 'very good electricians' right here don't agree.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:53 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


I tap all devices in any box. I've seen it done by many electricians and in my area I heard its code
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 07:52 PM   #29
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmans8666 View Post
I tap all devices in any box. I've seen it done by many electricians and in my area I heard its code
If it is code it is a local amendment. It is definitely in the National Electrical Code.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling Fan installation, 3 sets of wires in ceiling southnam Electrical 3 09-13-2010 03:00 PM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 10:27 PM
installing an electrical outlet with 3 sets of wires + ground dsparks Electrical 7 07-08-2009 06:18 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.