Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2011, 05:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 253
Share |
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Setting up my wiring for a kitchen renovation, setting up grounds and pigtails. A friend of mine said that you don't have to twist the wires for a wire nut, but the person I learned from twisted the wires and wrapped the wire nut connection with elec tape. Is the twisting of the wire ends overkill, or will an inspector look for that detail? Thanks.

tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 05:19 PM   #2
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Seems to be personal preference to some extent. Not twisting doesn't seem to be enough of a time saver to justify the chance the nut could fail/slip/whatever.

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 05:31 PM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


There have been MANY threads discussing both pre-twisting the wires and the use of tape.

Twisiting of wires: Under normal circumstances it is unnecessary if you properly fasten the wirenut.

Electrical tape: completely unnecessary and amateurish
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 05:31 PM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,563
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Twisting the wires is not required although I prefer it. Tape is not needed either.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 05:40 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Two bottom lines:

- The wires should look the same whether you pre-twist or not. Meaning, you MUST twist the wire nut enough to twist all the conductors together.
That said, pre-twisting is a for-sure way of getting it right.

- On a properly installed wire nut tape is unnecessary, amateurish and messy. If you think tape helps, think again.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 05:40 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


advantage is they disconnect when un nutted but if there is a load they will spark..twisting them aces that problem but need to recut when you renut them....this on solid wire more the stranded but it is an electricans install choice
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 05:45 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 84
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


If you twist them its better and the wire nut will not fail and if you twist them you do not have to cut them if you wish to redo something you just untwist them
jmans8666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 05:46 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
advantage is they disconnect when un nutted but if there is a load they will spark..
See post #5.


Also, WHY are you removing a wire nut on an energized circuit?????
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
jamiedolan (06-19-2011), Leah Frances (06-19-2011)
Old 06-19-2011, 08:43 PM   #9
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Yes, nuts alone are fine. But, I too don't really trust myself unless I pre-twist.

Also, taping over wire nuts is bad karma.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:13 PM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,563
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Yes, nuts alone are fine. But, I too don't really trust myself unless I pre-twist.

Also, taping over wire nuts is bad karma.
Taping wirenuts is a sign of an amature.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 10:04 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 253
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Thank you for all the replies. I appreciate the insights.
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 05:57 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Or use these and not have to worry about taping and twisting:
http://www.idealindustries.com/media...um/in-sure.jpg
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:44 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


For three or more wires, in order for a twist to be secure the bare wire ends have to be so long that bare wire protrudes from the wire nut. Then I need tape to cover it.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 07:07 AM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 463
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
For three or more wires, in order for a twist to be secure the bare wire ends have to be so long that bare wire protrudes from the wire nut. Then I need tape to cover it.
Then you're not twisting them correctly.
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to busman For This Useful Post:
electures (06-20-2011), HouseHelper (06-20-2011), Leah Frances (06-20-2011), Speedy Petey (06-20-2011)
Old 06-20-2011, 08:32 AM   #15
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Twist wires for wire nuts or not?


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
Then you're not twisting them correctly.
He may be twisting them correctly, but not trimming the twist afterwards for proper length.

Exposed copper after the wire nut is on is a big NO NO.

Wrapping electrical tape around it is not a solution for that problem.

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling Fan installation, 3 sets of wires in ceiling southnam Electrical 3 09-13-2010 03:00 PM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 10:27 PM
installing an electrical outlet with 3 sets of wires + ground dsparks Electrical 7 07-08-2009 06:18 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.