Twist Wires Together Before Installing Wire Nut? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2011, 10:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


I just watched a very good video showing how to install a transfer switch.

http://www.reliancecontrols.com/Stre...r_DSL.aspx

When he connects a pair of wires, he does NOT twist the 2 wires together before installing the wire nut. I thought the wires should always be twisted together first - am I wrong?

Bill

Advertisement

bw777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 11:16 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


It is a person choice. It is not required by any code. I don't usually do it.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 11:36 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


Like joed said, personal choice.

I pretwist. That was the way I was taught, that's how I done it all these years.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 11:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


What I do to check the tap is pull each wire to make sure they don't pull out from the wire nut. Also, if the wirenut is installed properly there will be no way that you can pull the wire nut off the wires.
AndyinAtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 01:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


The wire is held in the wire nut because:
1. It is pretwisted so the other wires help lock it in place,
2. The spring in the wire nut bites into the wire.

When there are more than four wires in the wire nut and not pretwisted there is a chance that one wire will be in the middle and not bitten into by the spring.

But pretwisting the wires enough so they hold together by themselves requires so much bare wire that the wire nut won't cover it all.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 02:50 PM   #6
And Still Learning
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WAR EAGLE
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


No twist here. Just tighten the He!! out of them. If there is any chance of moisture getting inside the wire nut I make sure it is pointed up. If there is any chance that anyone except me going back into the job I will wrap the nut with black tape, such as at work.
Know It ALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 04:29 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,034
Rewards Points: 2,866
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


As others have said, this is a personal preference.

Quote:
But pretwisting the wires enough so they hold together by themselves requires so much bare wire that the wire nut won't cover it all.
You only need about 3/4" of bare conductor if you are going to pre-twist 4-5 conductors. This can also be trimmed. There is no reason a wire nut would not cover this amount of bare conductor.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 05:16 PM   #8
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 349
Rewards Points: 268
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


For 2 or three I don't pretwist. 4+ I tend to, but that has less to do with ensuring a connection and more about wire length. With the twist I don't need them to all line up at the top, instead I twist them, not caring if a couple are longer, and then cut the bundle so they all end at the same point.
WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 06:29 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


There is only one time I actually pretwist. When installing replacement ballasts in Fluorescent lights. I pretwist the two line wires together and then add the ballast wire to the group. This makes it easier neat time to replace the ballast. The ballast wire comes out easy and the power wires stay together.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 07:04 PM   #10
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 525
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


I haven't used a wire nut in a couple of years. I prefer push connectors. Easy to install, easy to check for correct installation (clear end of the connector shows the wire) and they work fine. They are code compliant as well.

Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bigplanz For This Useful Post:
MichaelWSmith (04-10-2011)
Old 01-21-2011, 07:16 PM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


not again

If you install the nuts properly, the wires will become twisted. Therefore, no need to pre-twist. There are times when gathering a large quantity of wires to nut together, pre-twisting helps keep everything together when you try to nut them.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 11:59 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Twist wires together before installing wire nut?


When twisting wires with dikes doesn't the teeth on the dikes cut into the wires and create hot spots? Or do you strip further back, twist, then cut off the damaged part from twisting? I was told to be very careful not to nick or damage the wires. When twisting 4 or more wires the insulation is stripped back further, twisted, and then cut down to length to fit the wire nut thus the damaged part is removed. Is this correct? Just curious if that's how everyone else does it. 2 or 3 wires I just twist them into the nut really tight.

Advertisement

Toothless is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 05:02 PM
ROMEX 14-2 wire from Canada Vs. ROMEX 14-2 wire from the U.S. Dazzlin Electrical 14 06-04-2010 08:51 AM
installing an electrical outlet with 3 sets of wires + ground dsparks Electrical 7 07-08-2009 07:18 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 02:00 PM
installing a subpanel from 10/2 wire. d_skutnik Electrical 7 10-08-2008 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts