Tv Switch Off On When There Is A Load - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2013, 09:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


hello,
The power cord of my tv connects to an electrical wall plug, when a fridge starts or ceiling fan is switched on, the tv is power off and back on right away, kind of flickering phenomenon. I did check they have different circuit breakers. Please any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

dienthutam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:35 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


Loose Neutral somewhere, either in the panel, or on that circuit, if the outlet is on the same circuit as the fridge. Also could be a loose leg in the panel. Call an electrician and the Power Company to check out the panel and meter for any loose connections.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 06:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 462
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Loose Neutral somewhere, either in the panel, or on that circuit, if the outlet is on the same circuit as the fridge. Also could be a loose leg in the panel. Call an electrician and the Power Company to check out the panel and meter for any loose connections.
And do this ASAP, if it is a loose neutral, you could loose appliances and have a fire hazard on your hands.

Are the light flickering as well?

It could be a voltage drop issue but you need to rule out the neutral issue first. Not sure how low the voltage would have to go for a TV to reboot, just a thought.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:02 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


Thank xmuch both of you Grezoll and Known a Little. Very appreciate. I will checck Neutral connection for tthe ceiling fan thatt I think the probblem come from since it has been changed feew month ago at summer time. for my info, what is the cause the voltagge drop down. Thanks again.
dienthutam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 09:24 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


It is not in your ceiling fan, it is in the Breaker panel or Meter pan. You need to have an electrician come in and check out those two items, along with making sure that proper grounding for the meter & main panel.

You could check the ceiling fan, if that is where power comes in that powers the same circuit, that the outlet for your tv is on, but doubtful that is how it is ran.

Lighting circuits are usually separate from outlets on the wall, is why we are stating to contact an electrician, and also the Power company to check their side.

The last thing you want, is the guys and gals in the pretty Red or Yellow truck showing up, because your residence caught on fire, from an electrical fault, that was let to go for a long period of time, that it overheated and caused the fire.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 06:34 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


Unplug and don't use the TV until this is fixed. Loose neutral problems will fry the TV and other electronics long before ordinary appliances get damaged/
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 11:58 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


Do you know any good and affordable electrician to refer to me. I m living in Canada, Montreal Quebec, just in case. Thanks for all your helps.
dienthutam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 12:03 AM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


Quote:
Originally Posted by dienthutam View Post
Do you know any good and affordable electrician to refer to me. I m living in Canada, Montreal Quebec, just in case. Thanks for all your helps.
There are a couple of Sparky's in your area, that visit these boards. They may come across this and update you, what you will need to do, or refer you to a company that is reputable in your area.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 12:03 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 2,400
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


You really should put a meter on the line and see what happens ?
Most liklely a bad joint somewhere in your electrical system.
If it's a neutral problem then it's quite urgent !
Check all joints between the tv and the main panel,
Then check all joints in the panel.

If you are not 100% confident you can do this safely
THEN DON'T
call an electrician instead.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 08:30 AM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,385
Rewards Points: 3,564
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


In you Quebec you are not permitted to do your own electrical work. ALL work must be done by an electrician.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 06:01 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


Thank you for all your advices.
I have checcked tthe panel, tigh all screws in the neutral and ground bars. I also use the tool to check neutral connecttion in all wall plugs of the house and all connecctions are good. Then I mea sure the amp on the wire that connect to TV and saw it drops from 0.7A to 0.6A when the ceiling fan turned on. I cconnecctd TV to anotther wall plug and do the same measurement and got same result. Not sure it is the TV modem issue. I will call an electrician this week.
dienthutam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 07:01 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 462
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Tv switch off on when there is a load


Quote:
Originally Posted by dienthutam View Post
Thank you for all your advices.
I have checcked tthe panel, tigh all screws in the neutral and ground bars. I also use the tool to check neutral connecttion in all wall plugs of the house and all connecctions are good. Then I mea sure the amp on the wire that connect to TV and saw it drops from 0.7A to 0.6A when the ceiling fan turned on. I cconnecctd TV to anotther wall plug and do the same measurement and got same result. Not sure it is the TV modem issue. I will call an electrician this week.
Need voltage not amperage.

Take the voltage measurements

ADDITIONALLY the neutral issue could be on the utility drop.

Advertisement

Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
3 way light circuit, middle load, neutrals in switch box? langless28 Electrical 1 10-16-2012 10:32 PM
confused on switch replacement fullpint Electrical 6 07-11-2011 09:39 AM
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 04:17 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 07:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts