Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2008, 07:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


My son's bedroom has no power to outlets or light switch.THe breaker is working. When I test with with 3 prong device for grounding - it shows that it is backwards.It isn't really.When they were all working it showed correct wiring.
I have pulled all the outlets to check to see that all wires were attached-they are.The light switch is also connected.
I have a crawl space-is it possible that a rodent chewed through a wire and still show that there is power in the line?

Thanks
Parker

pdsullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 10:40 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Quote:
When I test with with 3 prong device for grounding - it shows that it is backwards.It isn't really.When they were all working it showed correct wiring.
Make sure that the lighting sequence on your tester is showing a hot/neutral reverse and NOT an open neutral condition. This is step one. My working theory is a loose or disconnected neutral somewhere.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 11:08 PM   #3
hms
Remodeling contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Check to see if the room is attatched to a GFCI in the bathroom or kitchen or garage for some reason. If the GCFI tripped it may be tied to that circuit causing no power in the bdrm. Long shot, but that's where I'd start if the breakers are all OK. Good luck.
hms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 12:26 PM   #4
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Quote:
Originally Posted by pdsullivan View Post
When I test with with 3 prong device for grounding - it shows that it is backwards.It isn't really.When they were all working it showed correct wiring.
When you say it shows backwards, do you mean "Hot and neutral reversed?" I'm assuming that this is one of those plug-in testers with 3-lights?

Thanks,
Jimmy
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 01:09 PM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,544
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Loose neutral. Check the wiring on receptacles on that circuit that are still working... it is usually the last working receptacle where the problem lies.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 06:04 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,860
Rewards Points: 2,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


If by reversed you mean a hot ground reversed then you have an open neutral.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 07:46 PM   #7
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


No, this just means the polarity is reversed. An open neutral is exactly what it sounds like. I have said this repeatedly but in the event of an open neutral, turn off BOTH circuits of a multi wire branch circuit connected to that neutral. Open neutrals are very dangerous. For equipment AND personnel.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 07:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Keep pulling outlets in a logical order. The circuit extends beyond his bedroom . There is likely a broken connection in another outlet in another room. (backstabbers!!!)

Check the outlet where you plug the iron in
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 08:49 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Yes, the tester showed Hot/ground reversed. When the circuit was working and I tested it, it was correct.

There are two outlets that are not in his room and show the same thing on the tester. There are not any outlets anywhere else on the circuit - all on circuit are not functioning,nor the switch.

I have pulled every outlet, replaced every outlet and continue to get the same hot/ground reveresed.

pdsullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 09:26 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,860
Rewards Points: 2,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


The problem is an open neutral. The problem is in the last working or first not working device in the circuit on the chain if you can follow the cable routing. It could also be in the panel. Loose neutral connections in the panel are not uncommon. It could also be in a light fixture or switch box.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 09:39 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Quote:
There are not any outlets anywhere else on the circuit



How do you know that? Did you turn the breaker off, test his BR outlets and all the others in the area?


and why does my reply come up big and bold?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 10:29 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Yes, I have checked other outlets to see what was all on the circuit with the breaker off.Two outlets are not in his BR and show reveresed hot/ground.

I don't have any idea why your messages come up the way they do.

Last edited by pdsullivan; 02-20-2008 at 10:37 PM. Reason: add more info to clarify
pdsullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 10:54 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Seems odd that there are only what....6 outlets on the circuit??


If you know that you've checked all the outlets and switch boxes in the circuit, there may be a hidden j box somewhere....or rats.


Question. How many wires in your switch box(es)?

If only 2 wires (one cable), there will be power running thru the ceiling light boxes that you need to check.



PS. I never use a tester like you have. With a simple voltage tester you can test power to neutral and power to ground separately to help isolate your problems.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 11:39 PM   #14
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
PS. I never use a tester like you have. With a simple voltage tester you can test power to neutral and power to ground separately to help isolate your problems.
Actually, for as hated as they are, those receptacle testers are not bad. 3 separate neon lamps in series with dropping resistors between H-N, H-G and N-G: simplicity. My Amprobe meter does the same as long as you know what you are measuring and what you should see. On the other hand, the slender probes don't always make reliable contact, esp. with older recepts., whereas the plug/spades almost always do. It's the capacitive testers that I don't like. If you isolate yourself well enough (fiberglass ladder, good boots, gloves perhaps), they can lie.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 01:51 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trying to troubleshoot no power on a run


I have 2 wires (plus one for ground). I thought that I had checked the ceiling light and was ok- I will check again to be sure.

pdsullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Mystery power in complex 3-way! mnyman2003 Electrical 12 12-16-2007 01:10 PM
power line noise sciguy125 Electrical 5 12-02-2007 01:39 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.