Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2012, 06:21 PM   #16
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Share |
Default

Trying to run 220machines to my grage what wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by flasherz View Post
No, you're suffering from "I have to be right" syndrome.
And you are suffering from saying one thing, meaning another, and not being sure of either.


Quote:
Originally Posted by flasherz View Post
The OP asked if he could use only 2 conductors and a ground rod, which presumes the grounded and grounding conductors would be pathed through the earth. That, as you and I both agree is a big, big no-no.

I explained that he could not and must run 4 conductors, which is correct and code-compliant. Knowing that the question of grounding rods is asked frequently by posters because of the formerly code-compliant method, I explained he could not use a single conductor for the grounding and grounded conductors, bonded together in the panel and connected to grounding electrodes -- which is what I described and is, indeed, formerly code compliant.
That is NOT what you said previously.


Quote:
Originally Posted by flasherz View Post
You are trying to argue that I suggested the grounded conductor could be serviced with a ground electrode only, which I never said and would never say.
No, but you suggested that the ground rods were in lieu of an equipment ground.



Quote:
Originally Posted by flasherz View Post
I believe you meant "you're welcome". HTH.
Yup, you're right.
Wow. You caught my one in a thousand typo. You must be SO proud, especially after your attempted stealthy quasi-intelligent insult from earlier.

Whatever. This is no fun any more so I am done. Reply back if you like, but I won't bother any more.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:25 PM   #17
Common Sense Common Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: So. IL near STL
Posts: 96
Default

Trying to run 220machines to my grage what wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
That is NOT what you said previously.
That is indeed what I said, it's still all in the post -- read it. You're finding yourself still having to be right about it because you read what I typed and assumed I said something I didn't.

Quote:
Whatever. This is no fun any more so I am done. Reply back if you like, but I won't bother any more.
It never was fun for me, I didn't view electricity as a game. I gave straightforward, truthful advice to the OP and you decided to attack me. Likewise, I'm finished with this.
flasherz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:40 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Trying to run 220machines to my grage what wire?


Thanks guys for a great argument! It realy helped me out and see why its not code that way.anyway i think ill begoing with thw 4-4-4-4 direct burial for both runs...i found some for 190$ for 100ft... thanks for your help !!

Zepplin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THWN wire; Gray pvc Conduit; and GFCI receptacles Buzzy Electrical 29 09-26-2012 02:41 AM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.