Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2014, 03:29 PM   #16
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Trying to modify a Generac GP3300 Need Electrician


This generator is capable of producing 27.5 amps at 120 volts.

It is essentially two 1650 watt 120 volt gens in one unit. Presently they are connected in series yielding either 14 amps at 240 volts or two separate 120 volt circuits at 14 amps each.

There are 4 wires coming from the windings, each one is 14 amps at 120 volts. If they can be separated and connected in parallel, the result would be 27.5 amps at 120 volts.

Most gens have all 4 wires coming from the stator, some splice two in the stator and bring out only 3. In order for this to work, all 4 wires need to be present.

If so, it's fairly easy to reconnect them in parallel.

Rob

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 09:33 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 718
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Trying to modify a Generac GP3300 Need Electrician


/\ This

lot of the older Generac's used to be wired like this. There was a switch you would flip for either 120 or 120/240. In the 120 position you had full capacity as it would parallel the windings.

AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generac 8kw Standby in the winter? Toller Electrical 7 08-01-2013 10:02 PM
Generac GP5500 a bust?? KE2KB Electrical 11 12-21-2012 05:53 PM
Generac Install ????? herdfan Electrical 0 07-07-2012 05:01 PM
How Hard is it to Modify RTA Cabinets? mystic_cobra Carpentry 16 03-07-2012 08:53 AM
Generac 10KW generator and Generac RTS12EZA1 transfer switch. exhdo1 Electrical 8 11-30-2011 02:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.