Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2011, 07:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Trying to install wall timer in place of switch


Looking for help....

I'm trying to install a GE 15265 timer in place of my wall switch that operates the two outside lights on the front of my house. I followed the provided instructions and connected the neutrals together, the ground to the screw in the box where the other grounds attach, the load wires from the lights to the red wire on the timer and the hot wire from the panel to the black wire on the timer. Afterall was done turned power back on and have no function.

Initially the wall switch had the two load wires from the outside lights on the bottom post and the hot wire from the panel on the top post of the swtch, with the neutrals together. Wondering what I have done wrong here.

In the actual box there are two wires coming from the panel, one feeding the outside lights and the other a 3 way switch for the hallway lights.

Can someone help me out??
bigcutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 08:25 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

Trying to install wall timer in place of switch


Looks like you wired it correctly.
Check connections to make sure they are tight.
Just could be a bad timer.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 09:52 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,207
Default

Trying to install wall timer in place of switch


The two load wire may not have been the load wires. They may have been the feed from the panel and the feed to another device. The single wire might be the load wire. Try swapping the two connections.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 02-01-2011 at 09:52 AM. Reason: spelling
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 03:41 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Trying to install wall timer in place of switch


how about a picture of the box?
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Concrete Wall Framing Against Stairs Epicsoccer Remodeling 7 01-13-2013 03:11 PM
Slight crackling/popping sound in wall switch JayBird Electrical 3 08-06-2010 10:37 PM
Installing timer switch, no ground wire in switch box diydan Electrical 2 05-25-2009 07:51 PM
Wall - LOAD BEARING: How to Move? user49172 Building & Construction 1 03-11-2009 04:48 PM
having trouble with a wall timer that will not switch kenny357 Electrical 4 08-06-2008 02:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.