Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2008, 07:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trying to get swith to work...


I am replacing a wall swith in the garage with a motion sensing switch to control the light in the garage. The garage door opener/light are plugged into an outlet that is on this circuit beyond the light.

I got the new switch to work with power to both the light and the garage door/opener, but when I turned the switch off, the light went off but so apparently did the power to the opener/light, as they would not work... which is obviously not the way I want it.

Here is the actual setup, as it was with the old switch:

Coming into the box are three wires -- white, black, ground. The black connects to the switch. The white and the ground are pigtailed into a connector.

Then, a red and black wire come off the switch and go on to the light. A white and ground wire come out of the connector and go on as well.

The sensor has three wires -- two black and a ground.

So, given that, is there a way to make this work with the motion sensor?

Thanks much.


Last edited by mntentman; 09-19-2008 at 10:52 PM. Reason: misspelling
mntentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 08:48 PM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Trying to get swith to work...


Use wirenuts. White to white (incoming to outgoing). Ground to ground (incoming, outgoing & switch)

Incoming (source) black to one of the switch blacks and the feed to the receptacle (probably the red). The other switch black to the feed to the light (probably the black).

Sounds like you might just be able to switch the red to the other black connection. If you verify if the red is at the light or receptacle, you'll know.


Last edited by SD515; 09-19-2008 at 08:51 PM.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 09:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trying to get swith to work...


Thanks, sd515. So.. no change to white, but add a jumper to the ground wires that are already in the connector (wirenut), from the new switch?
mntentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 09:30 PM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Trying to get swith to work...


You want the 3 ground wires connected together in a wirenut (yes you want the switch grounded). You want the 2 whites connected together by themselves in their own wirenut...not in the same wirenut as the grounds. Sounds like you're not using twist-on wirenuts?? Just curious.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 09:54 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trying to get swith to work...


Yes, they are twist on.

The white and the grounds are in the same nut, that's the way it was, but I will separate them out. (Why would the electrician who wired this house have put them together?)

I did get to work, though. I had to try a few combinations (red turned out to be the light). Thanks very much for your help.
mntentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where are the "Carpenters" ???? wrldruler Carpentry 14 09-11-2008 08:37 AM
HVAC contractor ripoff! sekntonone HVAC 8 04-05-2008 08:15 AM
Am I being overcharged for general construction work? baloney12 Building & Construction 2 07-11-2007 07:09 PM
is this bad tiling work? garrick Flooring 17 09-27-2006 01:30 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.