Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2008, 11:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Hi,

I'm looking to determine if I can find a 20a (or 15a) single pole twin breakers that will fit my existing subpanel. Ideally I need 20a twins.

I pulled the A/C double pole 40a breaker to show what the breaker connections look like. The first and second pictures show the connection best.













Home Depot and Lowes have Square-D twin breakers, but they are shallow and not full depth ... or have a large hook ... but neither type fits the tall rail found in my main panel. My house was built in 2005, so its a modern Square D 40 slot main panel, but only 4 spots left.

Can anyone tell me if (a) a proper fitting 20a twin breaker exists and (b) a part# or reference link? also (c) reccomend a place to purchase these from?

Thanks in advance,
Scott

taybrynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 12:05 AM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Sure, it's a Homeline breaker by Square D. They have them at my local hardware store. I know because I needed the kind with the clip and accidentally got these instead once.

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 12:12 AM   #3
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


http://www.drillspot.com/products/30...Tandem_Breaker

This what you want? A tandem single-pole?
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 12:18 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Yes, I'm looking for tandem breakers, preferably 20a ones.

I don't think those (in the link) are the right ones either ... because I believe those have a big hook on the back side.

The ones I need are square in the back end, with a deep clip connection, just as shown in my breaker pictures above. If you look at the top-most picture, it shows the deep clip connector I'm looking for. I've either found the hook or a shallow clip, not this deep clip. The single breakers in the homeline series have the deep clip on them, but the tandems don't.

The other type I have been finding that doesn't fit are the shallow clip variety. It seems strange that for a breaker serving double duty that you would create LESS contact with a shallower clip.

So I should add I'm trying to added this into the bottom slots in the box, but they don't appear to be any different looking that the other slots in the box. I have heard some special tandem slots are often required.

Scott

Last edited by taybrynn; 10-27-2008 at 12:20 AM.
taybrynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 12:37 AM   #5
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Some homeline panels just don't take the tandems it seems.

http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=293296

Apparently it's a sort of safety feature, so I doubt a tandem with the deeper slots exists, since it would bypass that.

Good luck.


BTW- QO has the big clip (I think what you are calling hook) that sticks out, HOM has the slot.

Last edited by Gigs; 10-27-2008 at 12:40 AM.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 05:59 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Some homeline panels just don't take the tandems it seems.
This is true for all panels.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 08:09 AM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Your panel either doesn't accept tandem breakers, or you are trying to place them at a spot in the panel that does accept them. Many times, only the lower positions will accept the tandems. What is the model number of the panel?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 08:35 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Based on the statement that you have a 40 circuit panel you will not be able to use tandems in this panel.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 12:48 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Based on the statement that you have a 40 circuit panel you will not be able to use tandems in this panel.

Good point, most panels will only accept up to 40 or 42 circuits max. Just because you have a 40 circuit panel, doesn't mean you can get an extra 2 circuits; 40 is the max. Some panels will say 30/40 what that means is it has 30 spaces for full size breakers, but can take up to a maximum of 40 circuits by use of tandem breakers in special slots (like it was said here earlier, its usually the last 10 slots in a circuit panel).

Probably your only option is to install a sub panel next to the main panel to gain a few extra circuits.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 07:55 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Thanks everyone. It makes sense that a 40 slot main panel would not accept tandem breakers.

I did find a cutler hammer tandem breaker (at lowes) that is the proper clip depth and virtually identical to a normal Square D homeline breaker ... but it had a little notch of plastic in the way that prevented it from working. It look like that notch could be removed with a dremel in 10 seconds, but I didn't want to get myself in trouble doing that. It was tempting.
Attached Thumbnails
Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel-dsc00385notched.jpg  

Last edited by taybrynn; 10-27-2008 at 08:06 PM.
taybrynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 08:11 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


DO NOT alter the breaker!!!

ONLY Homeline breakers should be used in Homeline panels. Those slots are what is rightfully preventing the breaker from being used where it is not supposed to be.

Your 40 space panel CANNOT accept twins. You need a sub-panel.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 10:24 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Trying to find twin breakers to fit panel


Thanks. I am not crazy ... I won't mod anything.

I appreciate the strong advise and plan on taking it.

I'm actually going to use (4) 20A single pole breakers instead of trying to use tandems. I can pull two out in a year or two and add a subpanel when I really need to ... as part of my basement finishing project.

taybrynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers avery2008 Electrical 8 05-02-2009 02:51 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.