Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-02-2012, 11:03 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

trying to figure out Knob & Tube wiring on old light fixture

I'm living in an old building built in 1926. It's got knob & tube wiring in it and I want to replace two light fixtures in a couple of hallways. The new fixtures are very simple, one 60W bulb each, very easy to do. Except...

When I took off the old light fixture, there are two sets of wires coming into it (of course, two hot and two neutral wires). The two neutral wires (white) were connected to the light fixture and the two hot wires (black) were capped. I just tested out all four wires with my voltage detector to make sure of this.

I'm not an electrical expert of course but I wanted to ask the following questions:

1) How can two neutrals power a light and why the heck are both hot wires capped (by an old ceramic cap nevertheless)?

2). Do I power off my place and hook up a hot and a neutral to the new light fixture (and individually cap the remaining hot and neutral wire separately)? If so, do I use the hot and neutral from the same set of wires or one from each (as both neutrals are from both sets of wires)?

3). Do I hook up both the hot and neutral wires to the new light fixture?

I'm attaching a picture of this as well.

TIA,
Dale

Last edited by dalethompson; 02-02-2012 at 11:30 AM. Reason: adding picture
dalethompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:38 AM   #2

Test the 2 whites with switch in on position one should have power that is the switch leg other is neutral leave the other two black wires capped.

ArkanSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:04 PM   #3
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,204

Are you sure that is not BX? Looks like it to me. What you have is a switch leg most likely.