Troubleshooting Outlet Without Ground - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 10:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Troubleshooting outlet without ground


Hi there-

Recently moved into a new home, built in the 40s. Many old 2 prong receptacles. Prior renovations with some new grounded three prong circuits, ground + gfci in kitchens and bathrooms, etc.

All of the three prong outlets have a working ground when I tested them with a multimeter. One outlet does not. I opened up, it appears to be wired with modern 3 wire including a ground wire. This breaker for this circuit is in the sub panel that was put in during the renovation with the other circuits that have updated grounded outlets.

I don't know what to do next to figure out why this outlet isn't grounded. Part of me just wants to throw a gfci receptacle in there and not worry about it, but part of me wants to fix it just for the sake of fixing it.

Thanks for any guidance.

Advertisement

GoHoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Troubleshooting outlet without ground


You need to trace (or correctly guess) the exact path of the circuit cable back to the panel so you can check for loose connections perhaps at other outlet boxes daisy chained along the way.

You may find a two piece tone generating tracer kit handy. You clip the toner onto a wire and use the hand held sensor like a stud finder to trace the path of that wire (and other accompanying wires in a Romex cable).

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing 2 way switch to control light, not outlet? andysam Electrical 0 05-30-2011 10:20 PM
210V outlet with no ground, hot and netural reversed Maximo Electrical 4 03-05-2010 11:15 AM
How to mount a outlet on a garden ground? KUIPORNG Landscaping & Lawn Care 3 05-30-2009 07:42 PM
Ground Fault outlet / Breaker jamiedolan Electrical 6 10-04-2008 05:56 PM
Outlet without Ground water_cutter101 Electrical 10 12-30-2007 09:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts