Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2012, 11:30 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

troubleshooting


Receptacle out in living room on first floor.
Finished second floor above.
Finished basement below.
No work has been done recently.
You opened the other receptacle/switch/light boxes in the room and adjacent rooms and can't find anything loose.

What do you do?

NECHater is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 04:51 AM   #2
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Default

troubleshooting


Take out my meter and check voltages. A visual look may not do it, especially if they are back stabbed.

JasperST is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 08:08 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Default

troubleshooting


Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperST View Post
Take out my meter and check voltages. A visual look may not do it, especially if they are back stabbed.
Nothing found. Next step?
NECHater is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 08:17 AM   #4
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Default

troubleshooting


No electricity found? I'd look for a tripped breaker.
JasperST is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 08:29 AM   #5
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

troubleshooting


Find the closest working receptacle/switch check connections in it.
May be the next one on the wall, could even be on the opposite side of wall (if wall is common to another room)
Gac66610 is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 09:13 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Default

troubleshooting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
Find the closest working receptacle/switch check connections in it.
May be the next one on the wall, could even be on the opposite side of wall (if wall is common to another room)
First post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by NECHater View Post
You opened the other receptacle/switch/light boxes in the room and adjacent rooms and can't find anything loose.
NECHater is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 09:15 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Default

troubleshooting


Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperST View Post
No electricity found? I'd look for a tripped breaker.
None. Next.
NECHater is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 10:12 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,732
Default

troubleshooting


Check for tripped GFCIs in the kitchen and bathroom.
beenthere is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 10:28 AM   #9
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Default

troubleshooting


Quote:
Originally Posted by NECHater View Post
None. Next.
Nope.
JasperST is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 10:41 AM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,663
Default

troubleshooting


Look in box. Where do cables enter? Top or bottom? If top, check outlets in room on second floor above. If bottom, check basement below for wiring going up to box and trace circuit then check boxes before.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 12:24 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Default

troubleshooting


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Check for tripped GFCIs in the kitchen and bathroom.
Good idea. But you haven't found the problem. Where would you look next?

Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Look in box. Where do cables enter? Top or bottom? If top, check outlets in room on second floor above. If bottom, check basement below for wiring going up to box and trace circuit then check boxes before.
Just like above, good advice, but let's say that you still can't find it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperST View Post
Nope.
So you would give up and tell the customer to call another electrician?
NECHater is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 12:30 PM   #12
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

troubleshooting


bring an extension cord to the outlet not working the cord has 115 on it right....now use each opening to check for neutral to the cord hot and the cord neutral to the outlet hot....if either is not reading at least you have a direction what side to look at....broken neutral back to the CB panel or loss of hot wire is same reading no 120V
biggles is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 12:48 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Default

troubleshooting


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
bring an extension cord to the outlet not working the cord has 115 on it right....now use each opening to check for neutral to the cord hot and the cord neutral to the outlet hot....if either is not reading at least you have a direction what side to look at....broken neutral back to the CB panel or loss of hot wire is same reading no 120V
Ok, so now you MAY know which cable coming into the box is the feed.

I say MAY because you can't be sure that you weren't reading 120V from the hot on the extension cord to the neutral on the DEAD cable because there is a neutral-ground bond down the line. THis type of thing is possible, especially in older houses where 50 handymen have done work.

But let's say you feel confident that you did find the feed cable, what do you do now?
NECHater is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 01:16 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,732
Default

troubleshooting


Are you asking for a real problem. or just making one up. It sounds like you haven't really checked an anything, and are just saying no to get more responses. Made up scenarios don't work real well. And often come off as trolling.
beenthere is offline  
Old 09-15-2012, 01:26 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Default

troubleshooting


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Are you asking for a real problem. or just making one up.
It's an exercise.

This is the type of thing where not only DIY can learn, but other electrician as well. You're never too old to pickup a new trick that may save you time and money.

Quote:
Made up scenarios don't work real well. And often come off as trolling.
Ohhh jeeze

NECHater is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some troubleshooting help with light fixture hmp Electrical 1 10-21-2011 04:47 PM
Whirlpool Imperial series gas dryer troubleshooting koz123 Appliances 12 09-20-2011 04:24 PM
Troubleshooting a Projectů. HHEELLLPPP PPPLLEAASEEE! electricbuddy Electrical 4 06-07-2011 11:30 PM
Troubleshooting Maytag Washer Antz000 Appliances 0 03-14-2011 06:52 PM
Help with voltage troubleshooting epicurux Electrical 5 07-02-2007 07:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.