Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2014, 09:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Trouble shooting dead lines?


ok first off new to the forums, founds via Google..... my name is Rob Im from Omaha Nebraska and a hand man for an apartment complex so got a good knowledge of everything but I'm not an expert,

In my garage I took a single outlet that had two hot wires going to it and wired double out lets and a switch for a light... everything worked fine. All out lets and had power to the switch and wire waiting for my new light.

I got my a shop light and when wiring it I might of not sure hooked it up wrong.... the breaker didn't pop but I now got no power to anything. ugg I know this was my fault but the damn thing had to markings and all 3 wires the same. =(

So I took everything apart and got into the wall in the junction box and now my existing wires both hots are dead. There are no other outlets in the line to test, so to my knowledge its from the breaker straight to the garage.

This same breaker used to pop all the time when my air compressor would kick on, could it be bad or did my line somewhere get burnt up for lack of a better way to explain it? I tired to reset the breaker to test it but got no results.

How would I trouble shoot this? BTW I turned the breaker off for now just to be safe.

Thanks Rob

rcillig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 09:53 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,867
Default

Trouble shooting dead lines?


Can you post a drawing of the wiring from the panel to the last box in the Branch circuit. Note which are GFCI and which are not.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 10:07 PM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

Trouble shooting dead lines?


Is the breaker in question in your garage?
I would look for a GFCI upstream.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaliBob For This Useful Post:
rcillig (03-30-2014)
Old 03-29-2014, 10:08 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Trouble shooting dead lines?


breaker - outlet (in garage) none in between, Iv'e tested every outlets in the house and no others are off when I got the breaker set to off.

Breaker is on the panel in my basement, I do got a 220 sub panel in my garage but just 220 ran off it.
rcillig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 10:37 PM   #5
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

Trouble shooting dead lines?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcillig View Post
--------This same breaker used to pop all the time when my air compressor would kick on, could it be bad or did my line somewhere get burnt up ------How would I trouble shoot this?----
Measure the voltage at the breaker or use a non-contact voltage detector.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaliBob For This Useful Post:
rcillig (03-30-2014)
Old 03-29-2014, 10:41 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Trouble shooting dead lines?


PaliBob your are correct I just went and checked all my GFCI's and yes one was tripped upstairs in my master bedroom right above the breaker box, after resetting it I got power back in my garage. TY very much Id a never thought that my bathroom and garage would be on the same circuit. Glad I found this forum and asked....

Again ty very much
Rob
rcillig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 01:49 AM   #7
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

Trouble shooting dead lines?


Here is the non-contact VAC Sniffer I currently have:
*Detects 5-600 VAC
*Find AC and ringing copper telephone wires in walls
*Has adjustable sensitivity knob
*Light flashes and beeper chirps when AC is detected
*Has Power on beeper reminder
Note I don't have any financial interest in this line.
Other brands such as Greenlee and Klein have similar specs
Attached Thumbnails
Trouble shooting dead lines?-voltage-detector.jpg  

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaliBob For This Useful Post:
rcillig (03-30-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
underground electical lines BlueBSH Electrical 11 02-10-2012 03:52 AM
Connect Air Cond Drain to House Waste lines AdamOJ Plumbing 19 11-23-2011 06:47 AM
Will water lines freeze if placed behind insulated stud wall in basement? jpsmith Remodeling 22 03-05-2009 12:23 PM
Trouble Shooting a Carrier 9200 Weathermaker Furnace JoeDell HVAC 4 01-08-2009 04:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.