Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2011, 08:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Trouble with GFCI Outlet + Switch for pool lights


Hi everyone!

There's a light switch wired after a GFI outlet (so the outlet must be on for the light switch to work). The light switch controls 2 lights. When I hook either of the two lights up to the switch, that 1 light will work fine. When I hook-up both lights, and flip the switch, then the GFI trips immediately.

The circuit for the lights is on a 20A breaker, the GFCI outlet is a 15A w/20A pass-through (or some similar terminology). The old outlet was a 20A. Is this what the problem is?

The bulbs in each of the lights are supposed to be 100W and 500W, though I think the one that's supposed to be a 500W could be something lower that someone put in. Would this have an impact on the GFI tripping? I have no idea what the bulbs actually are, I'd have to remove the lights to check.

Thanks so much for all your help!
Kent

kentf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 10:03 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Trouble with GFCI Outlet + Switch for pool lights


if the GFI trips that mean you have a ground fault. There is a wiring problem some where

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 10:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Trouble with GFCI Outlet + Switch for pool lights


Like I said, when I hook-up either light to the switch on its own, it just stays on fine, the GFI does not trip, so doesn't that mean that the wiring should be fine? It's only when I hook-up both lights together that the GFI trips.

I have hook-up/unhooked the lights multiple times to double check what I said above, and it's the same every time. What would cause this?
kentf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 11:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Default

Trouble with GFCI Outlet + Switch for pool lights


There must be a problem with the wiring technique. When did this start? Has it been working alright before?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 11:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Default

Trouble with GFCI Outlet + Switch for pool lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by kentf View Post
The old outlet was a 20A. Is this what the problem is?
Did you replace this old outlet with a GFCI?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:37 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Trouble with GFCI Outlet + Switch for pool lights


Good questions. So I bought this house over the winter and had never tried the lights (there was no pool inspection, just a home inspection).

So the lights just didn't work at all when I first opened the pool up. I started at the switch- had no power at the switch, then went to the GFCI outlet, it wouldn't test or reset (it was dried/cracked badly. So I replaced it with another GFCI, I also replaced the switch. The old GFI outlet said it was a 20A, the new one is supposed to be a 15A with 20A pass through.

kentf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holiday Lights and Outdoor Outlet Yankee1423 Electrical 7 11-01-2010 07:02 AM
Use factory fog light switch for aftermarket lights? downunder Automotive Repairs 6 07-10-2010 11:45 AM
How do I connect one switch to 3 lights? Dorkus Electrical 9 09-27-2009 10:08 PM
Changing switch for lights in basement, confused on current wiring. RyanD Electrical 2 05-14-2009 08:37 PM
On one outlet my GFCI tester has all three lights lit. What does it mean? Deck Electrical 6 07-09-2008 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.