Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2007, 06:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


i have recently baught myself a 400w grow lamp from germany thinking i could just plug into my volt converter and away i go, but the 2 pin plug is seperate from the rest of the lamp. my trouble is that there are 4 wires coming from the lamp (2 brown 1 blue and 1 black) and three wires coming from the plug (1 brown 1 blue and 1 green) i was wondering if any one had any information on how 2 connect them together without frying any components. ive been scratching my head 4 a week now, but to no avail.
thankyou 4 listening

demondope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 11:32 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: West Chester Pa.
Posts: 7
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


There is usually a schematic on the ballast. See if you can post a picture, or draw what you see. If it's not on the ballast there should be some paperwork. If not maybe you can download the schematic on line.

bigredc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 11:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 34
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


DemonDope, what are you trying to grow with those powerful lamps?

Last edited by Irishking23; 12-26-2007 at 12:15 PM.
Irishking23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 03:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


I always see the kids at Home Depot asking for Metal Halide lamps
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 03:58 PM   #5
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


This is a joke, right?
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 04:20 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,980
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


I'm sorry could you provide more details such as you are in the USA and have purchased a german made 400 watt lighting system to be used on American voltages? You mention a voltage converter? Are you sure this isn't the remote ballast? My guess also that this is a single bulb HPS 400 watt grow light?
It could be a switchable ballast which is why it has the black wire but it is hard to say.
The plug with those wiring colors would be a schuko plug like this...... brown is hot, blue is neutral and green is earth.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 04:46 PM   #7
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


Burn one for the DIY forum, DemonDope. Let us know how the little guys grow.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 05:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 34
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


You can call the DEA to ask them about wiring large grow lamps.
Irishking23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 06:00 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,980
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


Ain't nothing going to grow till we get the light wired......
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 06:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


Dude, where's my ballast?


Quote:
i was wondering if any one had any information on how 2 connect them together without frying any components
Components = brain cells?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 06:24 PM   #11
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


Maybe it is 'mater plants he is wanting to start.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 11:58 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

trouble fitting 4 wires into three


Twist one up for me. Hey guys, how bout getting this guy some help......LOL

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM
Running wires mt232 Electrical 4 03-22-2007 08:02 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Help, the bakelite light fitting in my shower room smells! Unregistered Electrical 1 08-13-2004 07:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.