Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2008, 10:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


I had to replace my compressor and it is wired 110 instead of 220. It was tripping the breaker, so I wired it to it's own 20amp breader with 12/2/grd. I know enough to do all that. Ok, so here is the problem, Even though it is now on a breaker all by itself, it is still tripping the breaker. The only problem is that it is tripping the old breaker that it is no longer on.

I'm smart enough to wire and/or rewire a house, but this stumps the heck out of me. Why is it tripping a breaker that it isn't connected to???

And help to fix this is more then welcomed.

Thank you

woodworksnmore@comcast.ne is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:31 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,008
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


Did you wire to the same receptacle box with the old wires still present in that box?

When does the original breaker trip when you turn power on to the entire breaker box or when you turn on the new breaker?


Last edited by Stubbie; 03-27-2008 at 11:34 AM.
Stubbie is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 12:39 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


If you leave the old breaker off does the compressor run. If it does not then you are still running off the old breaker.
You have miswired something in your new circuit. Give us a few more details about what you did and maybe we can tell you what is wrong.
joed is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


Quote:
The only problem is that it is tripping the old breaker that it is no longer on



PROBABLY....the old breaker is a 2 pole breaker. Both legs are tied together with a single handle. When one leg trips (the one you are using for the 120V) it takes the other out with it.
220/221 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 06:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


Hey guys;

I had to register another name. I have been trying to log in and it won't let me so if you never hear from me again it's because this name won't work either after this. I'm tired of fighting with this thing. I've been trying to log in for the past 2 hrs and I'm through with it.

So, anyway, I found the problem and I'm a little surprised that no one here figured it out.

220/221; No it isn't because it is an old breaker. It's all brand spanking new. Breakers and all.

Stubbie; No I didn't wire with the same wires still in box. It trips when it runs and gets hot from pulling the amps.

joed; You were close. No it wouldn't run with the old breaker turned off. But no, I did not have anything misswired. I'm a little better then that.

But as you are all wondering by this time what it was, I would first like to say, thank you for all of your help. The only detail I left out when posting the orginal was this;

The one detail I didn't tell you (because I didn't know it at the time), was that I had forgotten to unplug the compressor from the old outlet and plug it into the new one. I really didn't think I had messed up anything. I know how to wire a new outlet, I just didn't know you had to actually plug into it.

Talk about red faced. The day I wired the new outlet, I was about to spray a finish on a gun rack I had just made. That was the reason I wired into a new breaker, because I was tired of tripping the breaker and didn't want to trip it while in the middle of spraying. The one time it didn't trip and then I forgot to plug it into the new one anyway. Joed got me thinking when he asked if it worked if I shut off the old breaker. Of course it didn't. So after I got to looking I felt like a real fool.

Thanks again guys. Maybe I can return the favor sometime .
woodworksnmore is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 06:15 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,008
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


Quote:
So, anyway, I found the problem and I'm a little surprised that no one here figured it out.
When I used to suggest to people that the reason their light bulbs didn't work was because they were burned out....I would get the " I'm not that stupid you SOB" answer.

I no longer feel responsible for pointing out a total lack of common sense......
Stubbie is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 07:04 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


There is no such thing as common sense. Never has been and never will be. I can't believe that the darn compressor didn't trip the breaker while I was spraying. Any other time it would have tripped and I would have been able to remember I hadn't pluged it into the right one. But then maybe not, since I didn't remember when it did start tripping the breaker. Well maybe I gave you guys a good laugh over it. I have to admit I laughed about it.
woodworksnmore is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by woodworksnmore View Post
There is no such thing as common sense. Never has been and never will be.
Maybe for you. When the rest of the world describes a problem they're accurate. And they don't wire a new outlet and then forget to plug the compressor into it, and then scratch their head when the old breaker with supposedly no wires on it keeps tripping.

You keep spraying those gunracks, Haystack... and next time consider a fume hood.

LawnGuyLandSparky is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 12:16 AM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,008
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


It's a little after midnight here and I needed a laugh........
Stubbie is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:32 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
Maybe for you. When the rest of the world describes a problem they're accurate. And they don't wire a new outlet and then forget to plug the compressor into it, and then scratch their head when the old breaker with supposedly no wires on it keeps tripping.

You keep spraying those gunracks, Haystack... and next time consider a fume hood.

So you saying I'm the only one in this world who has even made a mistake??? Since you seem to be so perfect, do I pray to you also???
I have more going on then you know about, so maybe you need to keep your downgrading remarks to yourself.

For all other's, I don't mind getting ribbed, but if your just want to make yourselves look good, do it at someone eles's expense. I don't give change or refund's. I tell it like I see it. I was preoccupied and had totally forgotten that I hadn't unpluged it.
LawnGuyLandSparky; I don't see any reason for you to reply or even comment since I don't really care to hear from you again. Beside's, why would you want to lower yourself.

For all the other's that had something constructive to say, you have my respect for trying to help. I can take a joke, but the above did not sound like a joke to me no matter how hard I tried to see the humor in it.

Thank you again for all the help.
woodworksnmore is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 07:43 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


[quote=woodworksnmore;111584]So you saying I'm the only one in this world who has even made a mistake??? [quote]

Heck no. I got involved in this thread, so there's one right there...

Quote:
Since you seem to be so perfect, do I pray to you also???
I have more going on then you know about, so maybe you need to keep your downgrading remarks to yourself.
For sure, you have so much going on that you forgot to plug your compressor into the dedicated circuit, and still couldn't figure out why the original circuit kept tripping. Resetting the original breaker should have been your first clue. To err to that degree, there must be a whole boatload of things going on.

Quote:
For all other's, I don't mind getting ribbed, but if your just want to make yourselves look good, do it at someone eles's expense. I don't give change or refund's. I tell it like I see it. I was preoccupied and had totally forgotten that I hadn't unpluged it.
LawnGuyLandSparky; I don't see any reason for you to reply or even comment since I don't really care to hear from you again. Beside's, why would you want to lower yourself.
Hey if you're going to fish for help fixing a problem this easy you'd better grow a thicker skin. Your comment that nobody figured it out triggered my response. We did figure it out. It's you that lacks in the figuring department.

Quote:
For all the other's that had something constructive to say, you have my respect for trying to help. I can take a joke, but the above did not sound like a joke to me no matter how hard I tried to see the humor in it.

Thank you again for all the help.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:32 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


The OP will never get it.
This is the danger of this type of website ... giving info to incompetents. PERIOD.
They will never get hurt, but someone else surely wll suffer for their lack of scruples.
He is typical of the "DIYer" that asks, and then doesn't read and comprehend the correct responses, but does it the cheap way, and then says "well, it works".
This original post is so simple, it's embarrassing he even posted it, but don't forget he knows how to wire a house ........ an on the ball 9th grader would know what the problem was with his wiring.
JGarth is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 12:16 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


LawnGuyLandSparky & JGarth

Both of you can eat sh**t! As far as my saying 'no one figured it out' was a joke in itself. And guess what a**hole lawn guy, you didn't get involved until it was over and done with. All you wanted to do was be an a**!!! There was no reason for your post whatsoever! And the same goes for you, garth. Since you both like to pass judgment on people, then why don't you go start your own web site and don't let anyone else in because no one is as smart as the two of you.

Because someone makes an honest mistake, you curcify them for it. You perfect a**wipe *itches!!!

Since I haven't been too familar with these forums and I don't know just how they work as far as blocking you two a**wipes, I'm now putting you on my ignore list. I hope you two don't get nose bleeds so far above the rest of us.
woodworksnmore is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 01:34 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


You're ignoring me? I'll survive.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 01:41 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

Tripping Wrong Breaker


WoW......what a vulgar potty mouth ......

And that's not original either....
sounds quite a bite like from Denzel Washington's movie Training Day .....

JGarth is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Main house breaker keeps tripping cosmicmah Electrical 20 01-22-2008 12:36 AM
Breaker keeps tripping... why? Weekend Warrior DIY Electrical 13 12-14-2007 01:47 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
HW tank breaker tripping arichard21 Electrical 6 10-31-2007 04:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.