Triplex Outlets - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2008, 10:03 PM   #31
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Most of your "premium" outlets are self-grounding. Look for the tab on the mounting screws before you go to the trouble of installing all those pig tails.
Well on the few outlets that I got that were in stock, they do not have the tab on them. I tried to look it up on the P&S web site, but it was rather cryptic. I suspect that they have 2 very similar versions of this outlet, one with the self grounding tab and one without.

I figured that it was worth the extra work to save a couple hundred bucks (70 outlets). But I may regret that statement after I install a couple dozen.

However it does sound like pig tailing the ground is really the better install method.

Jamie

Advertisement

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 04:04 AM   #32
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Jamie.,,

Trust us with the grounding pigtail .,,


That is the best methold for ground wire hook up but just keep in your mind is watch the box fill sometime it can get pain in the butt to get all back in there and also some case I did see ground wire cutted off short the point where I can't use it.

{ that happend more than once }


If you have more question just holler

BTW I am not far from your home { about 20 or so miles away from ya }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 04:59 AM   #33
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Jamie.,,

Trust us with the grounding pigtail .,,


That is the best methold for ground wire hook up but just keep in your mind is watch the box fill sometime it can get pain in the butt to get all back in there and also some case I did see ground wire cutted off short the point where I can't use it.

{ that happend more than once }


If you have more question just holler

BTW I am not far from your home { about 20 or so miles away from ya }

Merci,Marc
I just changed one a few hours ago, I did the pig tail on the ground wire, it wasn't really a big deal to do. It was a shallow depth box, so it was a bit more difficult to put back in, but not bad. I pig tailed the bare copper wire with a couple pieces of 12Gagae, twisted it and put a nut on it, one I ran back and bonded to the box (not on the clamp - as was seen in one of my photo, this box was fed with emt). And ran the other tail to the outlet.

I do have a question about the best way to add in some double gang boxes, but will post a new question on that.

Thanks
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 07:07 PM   #34
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


If you can avoid a wire nut, it would help with the room in the box. They make pigtails with a fork on one end and a ring with a ground screw at the other. Hook that to the recep and on the other end, right to the box. The ground coming into the box with the feed can go right to the box as well.

this will eliminate that wire nut for the grounds and save some room..

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 01:29 PM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-09-2008 12:09 AM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 09:37 AM
GFI outlets and power ? CALDWELLAPARTMENTS Electrical 3 07-24-2008 06:32 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts