Triplex Outlets - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2008, 07:57 PM   #16
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by MdangermouseM View Post
would a single outlet/switch combo help?

DM
My a outlet / switch combo, if that is what I am thinking of with a 1 outlet, and a 1 switch together, then that would be pretty weird for all my regular outlets to be setup like that, and I don't see why anyone would install a setup like that for there regular wall outlets.


Maybe I missed something?

Jamie

Advertisement

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 07:58 PM   #17
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
there is no requirement in any code I have dealt with that required up or down but if you notice, all the writing on the recep is right side up when the ground is up.

Name:  BS110.3.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  29.1 KB


..............
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:02 PM   #18
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Triplex Outlets


My grounds are up on at least some of the outlets that are installed in my house. (too tired / lazy to go look at all of them right now)

I am pretty sure that in the product into sheet for leviton that the grounds were up in the photos.

Do the inspectors like it one way or another, or is this just another one of those age old debates type of things that people fuss over for no good reason?

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:09 PM   #19
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
All single boxes, flush up to the wall.

How do I find out of a outlet is self grounding? I have a Pass & Seymour Legand Premium Sitting here I bought today. It says "Outlet; Decorator Grounding"

Jamie
One of the attachment screws will pass through a brass clip. Like in this pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Triplex Outlets-selfgrounding.jpg  
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:22 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
... refer to NEC BS110.3...
As stipulated in your image, that is a bunch of "BS" ....
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:26 PM   #21
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Triplex Outlets


okay stop the argument and reread my post, it was a joke.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:27 PM   #22
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
One of the attachment screws will pass through a brass clip. Like in this pic.
So would this outlet be considered ungrounded? This is an original installed kitchen outlet.

Triplex Outlets-img_3863.jpg

I don't see a brass clip...

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:30 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
...I don't see a brass clip...
You don't need a brass clip if there is a grounding pigtail attached to the outlet.

Some older installations relied soley on the mounting screws without the clip. Newer codes require either the pigtail, or clip, but do not require both.

Last edited by kbsparky; 10-11-2008 at 08:33 PM. Reason: Picture fuzzy --- looked like a groundpigtail there
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:40 PM   #24
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Yes, that would be considered ungrounded. You see that hole in the back of the box on the right? That would be the ideal place to attach the grounding conductor. The place it is currently attached is on the cable clamp, not to mention that it is wrapped poorly around the screw. You might consider taking that loose (while the circuit is off, Mr. "I work on it hot"), then using a piece of bare #12, wirenut it to the grounds, then wrap it around a screw in the aforementioned hole, then carry it on to the receptacle.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:42 PM   #25
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You don't need a brass clip if there is a grounding pigtail attached to the outlet.

Some older installations relied soley on the mounting screws without the clip. Newer codes require either the pigtail, or clip, but do not require both.
Nope they didn't pig tail the ground, I agree my photo is deceptive.

So if this were your home, would you pull this out, pig tail the ground, reattached it to the box, and attach one pigtail to the outlet? (or replace the outlet with one that has a brass clip on it)

Do only the really expensive outlets have the self ground clip? ($10+ industrial / commercial / hospital outlets?)

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:54 PM   #26
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Nope they didn't pig tail the ground, I agree my photo is deceptive.

So if this were your home, would you pull this out, pig tail the ground, reattached it to the box, and attach one pigtail to the outlet? (or replace the outlet with one that has a brass clip on it)

Do only the really expensive outlets have the self ground clip? ($10+ industrial / commercial / hospital outlets?)

Jamie
They are more expensive, yes, but the cheapest isn't that much. But, I would pigtail. I have never relied on the self-grounding clip.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 01:14 AM   #27
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post

Do only the really expensive outlets have the self ground clip? ($10+ industrial / commercial / hospital outlets?)

Jamie
hospital grade receps are up around that price but there are commercial grade receps around $2 or so, including self grounding type.

I too prefer a pigtail.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 01:17 AM   #28
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
All single boxes, flush up to the wall.

How do I find out of a outlet is self grounding? I have a Pass & Seymour Legand Premium Sitting here I bought today. It says "Outlet; Decorator Grounding"

Jamie
I was considering suggesting replacing the mud rings with 2 gang and install 2 duplex receps but since they are single gang boxes...
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:09 PM   #29
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Triplex Outlets


Well I didn't really want to, but I got a good deal on the outlets, so I am going to have to do pig tails for all my outlets.

I ordered the Pass and Seymour Legrand Premium Grounded outlets today. 70 of them. @ $2 each. I compared them to the leviton in the $2-$4 price range and felt like the P&S had a little better grip on the plug.

My local hardware store normally wants something like $4.79 each for these things.

I think the old cover plates will still fit, I will have to test it and see. I guess the new ones are cheap enough, but 70 of them. I have a couple outlets less than that, but plan to add a few in the kitchen.

Thanks
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 09:37 PM   #30
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Triplex Outlets


Most of your "premium" outlets are self-grounding. Look for the tab on the mounting screws before you go to the trouble of installing all those pig tails.

Advertisement

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 01:29 PM
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-09-2008 12:09 AM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 09:37 AM
GFI outlets and power ? CALDWELLAPARTMENTS Electrical 3 07-24-2008 06:32 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts