Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2008, 12:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

tried 2 washers & neither will go through the spin cycle


I don't understand, I've tried 2 washing machines & neither will spin on the spin cycle. I tried to plug the machines into a different outlet but get the same results. Anyone know what I can do next?

shadetree12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 12:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

tried 2 washers & neither will go through the spin cycle


Shut the lid. Will it not go through an entire cycle? What if you try the spin only cycle?

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 12:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

tried 2 washers & neither will go through the spin cycle


Quote:
Originally Posted by shadetree12 View Post
I don't understand, I've tried 2 washing machines & neither will spin on the spin cycle. I tried to plug the machines into a different outlet but get the same results. Anyone know what I can do next?
Try a Google search with your make and model and symptom.

You might ask the washer manu. if there is a motor protection circuit which locks out operation for lower-than-normal motor voltage.

If the washer control unit is electronic and not electromechanical, it can be almost anything.

Going from the extremely unlikely to the unlikely, it almost has to be the washers, but you might check an outlet voltage during the spin cycle, assuming the spin cycle pulls the most current.
If both outlets have higher than normal voltage drop under the washer load, then the problem is upstream, in your house wiring.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 12-09-2008 at 12:21 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 01:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 143
Default

tried 2 washers & neither will go through the spin cycle


Is it a front loader or top loader? I just had this problem with our front loader and Sears came and fixed it. It was some kind of electro thermal wax filled door lock assy that it noted for going. If the unit doesn't lock correctly the washer won't spin out.Took the guy longer to make out the bill than to fix it.
Plumbvoltage is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 01:47 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 10
Default

tried 2 washers & neither will go through the spin cycle


The machine is at my friends house but I checked the outlet and got 125v. While I was there, I got the machine to run in spin cycle with the door open by manually pressing the door switch. It seemed to run perfect every time except maybe one. We also loaded the machine with a few items because they said the problem came when the machine was under full load. I'm clueless. It seemed to be fine when I left. CRAZY!!!
shadetree12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 02:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

tried 2 washers & neither will go through the spin cycle


If it worked when you manually depressed the lid switch it is either the switch or the switch actuator. You figured this out on your own and now you have someone to second the motion. Think switch and do not think anything else. Good luck even though it looks as if you don't need it.

Ps....Your receptacle is not the issue!
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 03:48 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

tried 2 washers & neither will go through the spin cycle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumbvoltage View Post
some kind of electro thermal wax filled door lock assy
A wax motor.
It works like a car thermostat except the heat is supplied by heating a resistor. Dishwashers are full of them.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wax_motor

BTW, please ignore the parts of my previous post which make me look stooopid. . .

Last edited by Yoyizit; 12-09-2008 at 04:00 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 04:14 PM   #8
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Default

tried 2 washers & neither will go through the spin cycle


Are they really big washers? Maybe they're just throwing the machine out of balance.

gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Washing Machine Not Reaching Max Spin Shelley Appliances 2 11-30-2008 09:12 PM
Maytag washer spin cycle problems. billmac Appliances 1 07-16-2008 04:03 PM
GE Washer Howls During Spin Cycle kennelm Appliances 1 02-10-2008 02:38 PM
washer spin cycle seems wrong markm Appliances 5 01-04-2008 01:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.