Treadmill Problem - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2012, 11:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill problem


Good morning everyone!

I have purchased a ProForm treadmill from Academy and when I initially placed it, it was in a room with a 15amp circuit (Room with PC and TV). when we powered it on...it went fine until we got it up to speed (the treadmill has a 1.5chp motor) and the breaker would trip. So I then moved it to a circuit that was a 20amp. We got it up to speed and it did not trip the circuit, however, it tripped another circuit in my girls bedrooms. The circuit that it tripped was a 15amp AFCI circuit.

Ok, so on to my question...what kind of problem am I facing here?

Is it more likely that the treadmill has something wrong with it or do I have an electricity issue?

Thanks in advance everyone!

Kevin

Advertisement

kevinhittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 03:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 208
Default

Treadmill problem


I'm not an electrician, but do have a treadmill (NordicTrak). I was advised that it is recommended to have it on a dedicated circuit. That is how I have it, and have had no issues in 10 years.
Good luck.

Advertisement


Last edited by orange; 08-19-2012 at 07:47 PM.
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 03:46 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Treadmill problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinhittle View Post
Good morning everyone!

I have purchased a ProForm treadmill from Academy and when I initially placed it, it was in a room with a 15amp circuit (Room with PC and TV). when we powered it on...it went fine until we got it up to speed (the treadmill has a 1.5chp motor) and the breaker would trip. So I then moved it to a circuit that was a 20amp. We got it up to speed and it did not trip the circuit, however, it tripped another circuit in my girls bedrooms. The circuit that it tripped was a 15amp AFCI circuit.

Ok, so on to my question...what kind of problem am I facing here?

Is it more likely that the treadmill has something wrong with it or do I have an electricity issue?

Thanks in advance everyone!

Kevin
Whats the nameplate on the unit? And I highly doubt the appliance caused the tripping of a completely different circuit.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very Strange Shower Drain Problem MattWhite Plumbing 12 05-21-2011 12:53 PM
Don't understand this breaker tripping problem majesticjess Electrical 10 03-05-2010 07:42 PM
flame sensor problem junkcollector HVAC 1 12-09-2009 09:19 AM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts