Treadmill Popping GFI - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2011, 06:52 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


If the "tool geek's" idea of using an isolation transformer does not work I will look into hiring an electrician to run a dedicated circuit. If I need to do that I have it ran with 12 gauge and add a 20 amp GFCI breaker. JUst not sure how they will get it to the 2nd floor bedroom. I'm sure there is a way. The garage and breaker box is below which helps.

Advertisement

GD Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:31 AM   #17
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


GD, A Power Isolation Transformer able to drive your treadmill would be big bucks.

But then pulling in a dedicated non-AFCI circuit would make you non-code compliant.
.


NOTE: HERE IS A CHEAPER SOURCE FOR THE TRIPP-LITE
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 03-20-2011 at 09:54 AM. Reason: added cheaper source
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:46 PM   #18
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by PaliBob View Post
GD, A Power Isolation Transformer able to drive your treadmill would be big bucks.

But then pulling in a dedicated non-AFCI circuit would make you non-code compliant.
.


NOTE: HERE IS A CHEAPER SOURCE FOR THE TRIPP-LITE
The issue up until now has GFCI, not AFCI.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:54 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


The panel is right below your treadmill?
killadelphia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 02:16 PM   #20
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The issue up until now has GFCI, not AFCI.
AFCI breakers also act like GFCI, they look at current leakage.
.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:50 PM   #21
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by PaliBob View Post
AFCI breakers also act like GFCI, they look at current leakage.
.
Yes but the OP never mentioned AFCI. They are very prone to tripping on treadmills because the speed controllers and brush motors often look like arc faults.
Perhaps the OP is wrong and actually has an AFCI. That would be a reason for it tripping. The long cord is acting like a filter and the AFCI is not seeing the waveform to trip.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:15 PM   #22
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by GD Lee;612564 (post #7)
......The breaker is a Sqaure D Homeline AFCI. .......Garry
The OP does have an AFCI Breaker
.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:19 AM   #23
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Treadmill popping GFI


Quote:
Originally Posted by GD Lee View Post
Does anyone know if there ia a device, a type of filter, that can be used between a treadmill and an outlet .........
Tripplite makes a premium Surge Suppressor that has toroid chokes and ferrite rod-core inductors that by limiting the initial power on surge may solve your AFCI tripping. I do not agree that your problem is caused by 'frequency spikes' but are surge related.

Because of your treadmills high power requirements I think you should go ahead and pull in a new dedicated AFCI circuit for the treadmill only and use the primo suppressor. It has four outlets but don't plug the computer or anything else other than the treadmill into the surge suppressor because of its power limitation.

also available at Amazon
.
Attached Thumbnails
Treadmill popping GFI-surge-suppressor.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deck nails popping! Replace with screws? sliver108 Carpentry 7 07-21-2010 11:33 PM
Popping noise in the flat roof mtrx Building & Construction 6 03-15-2010 11:18 PM
Treadmill outlet TANC Electrical 3 02-02-2010 10:53 PM
Only one outlet will power treadmill? archer75 Electrical 17 05-05-2009 01:20 AM
Loud Popping Noises - when HVAC is Turned On. San Fran HVAC 2 01-04-2008 10:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts